A Few Improvements

November 15, 2013 § Leave a comment

No big projects being tackled right now, but we’ve made three small improvements this week: a much better grain bake, a softer perching area for Lola, and yet another cool foraging pot for Lola’s cage!

the grain bake ingredients before adding water and going into the oven

After my first failed grain bake, I got some suggestions from friends about how to make the texture of the grain bake a bit more palatable.  This time, I used the same ingredients, but added sweet potato puree rather than chunks of sweet potato, and mixed it into all of the grains.  I was told this would create a more risotto-like texture, which would resemble my birds’ usual nightly mash quite a bit more.  I also sprinkled some Totally Organics pellets on top.

after baking

It doesn’t look pretty (and the pellets got very puffy!), but Lola liked this one a lot, lot more!  The texture is much softer and although still not like my normal mashes, Lola really enjoyed it and even ate the pellets.  Sabrina still wouldn’t touch this, but she also isn’t a big fan of sweet potatoes, so I’m not surprised.  But at least this one won’t go to waste!  I don’t think this will replace my nightly mashes, but I might decide to make some every once in a while and keep some in the freezer since it is a nice option that Lola seems to enjoy.

the new hemp-wrapped cage door

The next mini project was wrapping the top of Lola’s cage door with some extra comfy hemp rope.  I’ve noticed that she has taken a liking to sitting on top of the cage door a lot.  Unlike a lot of cages which have a larger square metal bar on top that provides a more substantial perching surface, Lola’s is just one of the 3/16″ stainless steel bars.  I was worried that it wasn’t comfortable or good for her feet to be perching up there so much, so I wrapped it in thick hemp rope.  It took a while but the rope is very thick and durable and provides a much nicer perching surface for her.

Lola enjoying her new soft, hemp perching space

Lola seems to approve!!  I think it adds a nice touch to the cage as well.  She also likes to chew on it a little but thankfully the rope is very thick and durable.

the coconut foraging pot

Finally, I added yet another foraging pot to her cage, but this one is big!!  It’s the awesome Coconut Foraging Pot from Things for Wings.  It’s awesome.  It’s actually an entire half of a coconut with the husk and everything still in tact.  Because it’s split in half, there is a lot of natural fiber exposed– so it’s both a chew toy and a smooth foraging pot in one.  Lola loves chewing on coconut pieces with the husk still attached.  It’s shreddable, tear-able, and tough, and she loves this pot.  I’m trying to encourage her to use all of the space in her cage more (she typically uses the upper perches and then goes to the ground floor to forage, but doesn’t use the middle to much), and using foraging pots is a great way to do that.  I’ll put a noticeable treat in there for her and she’ll get wandering over.

That’s all from us for today.  More next time 🙂

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Few Improvements at Coco's Flock.

meta