Pumpkin Season!

September 22, 2014 § 4 Comments

Fall is here… which means some of Lola’s very favorite produce is also in season:  cranberries, pomegranates, and squash galore!  I dropped by our wonderful local farmer’s market today to see what I could pick up.  I grabbed a whole bunch of fresh, delicious fruits and veggies, but was also introduced to something new: a cheese pumpkin!  One of the farmers described it as a little creamier than normal pumpkins, and recommended I try it since I really like butternut squash.  (I didn’t mention it was for my parrot!)  I picked up a miniature one to try.

a mini cheese pumpkin

He’s a cute little guy, isn’t he?  I decided I’d roast him up and serve him to Lola for dinner.  One of my favorite ways to serve mini pumpkins to her is as a bowl, stuffed with her nightly mash.  (One of the many wonderful contributors to the forum Avian Avenue, Saroj, shared this awesome idea!)  Lola absolutely loves it.  I like to roast them, then scoop out some of the insides, and replace them with her dinner.  Of course, I save the insides too and especially the seeds, as she loves eating those as well.

roasted, stuffed, and ready to serve

Tonight’s dinner was the Avian Organics Quick Serve, one of Lola’s very combinations.  I added some fresh pomegranate seeds to the finished product, then put it all inside her little cheese pumpkin and into her bowl.

Do you think she liked it?  I absolutely love watching her go after her dinner with gusto!  She actually ate and destroyed a huge amount of the pumpkin, more so than usual.  Of course there is some waste involved as she’d probably burst if she consumed the entire pumpkin, but I think the foraging, enrichment, and nutritional value are worth it.  Pumpkins are extremely high in Vitamin A, and contain others like Vitamin E and B.  Plus, if you scoop out a good amount of pumpkin to save for future meals, you can minimize waste.  It’s such a fun and creative way to serve meals, and even my picky eater goes after this healthy treat quite zealously!

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Pumpkin Season!

  • Erika says:

    How did you roast the pumkin? I always serve it raw

    • Coco's Flock says:

      Lola prefers to eat it when it’s soft and tender 🙂 I roasted this one at 400 or 425 for about 45 minutes to an hour or so– I only do this when I’m also cooking other stuff and will have the oven on anyway so as not to waste energy. But I think Saroj says you can pop them in the microwave for two minutes to soften them as well!

  • Pann says:

    This is such a cute idea! It’s always fun getting to see Lola spoiled rotten, she gets so many great things to eat and play with!

  • HungryBird says:

    Just letting you know I made my site private on purpose since I was running out of space and refuse to pay for more space. I think I can allow some people access if I like. I’ll try to figure it out. Hope you are doing well.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Pumpkin Season! at Coco's Flock.

meta

