A Somber Summer

May 20, 2014 § 2 Comments

Well, it’s been a tough month with Sabrina’s passing, but she had a lovely burial right next to Charles and Theodore and I do hope she is finally resting in peace. Lola is adjusting well although unfortunately I won’t be seeing her for two months. I’ve (temporarily) moved across the country for my job and she is staying in the good hands of my mother who has graciously volunteered to watch her for the weeks that I am gone so that I don’t have to fly Lola across the country twice in two months. I figured that she would prefer an extended vacation over having to be transported that far, twice over, in such a short period. I know she’ll be fine but of course I miss her terribly already. Thankfully my mom gives as many updates as I request and I know little Lola is having a great time.

At the rate at which she’s going through toys I had to stock up on some extras for her. She is such a huge fan of Things for Wings so I purchased a bunch of things from them. This isn’t everything but I thought I’d post some photos of some of the cool new stuff that we got from them.

the wood jellybean toy

This one is probably my favorite and it is truly very cool! It’s a horizontally hung toy that is quite long and packed with tons of fun parts. You can order it with lots of colors and textures and plastics, or in an all natural wood version as you see above. I have this one hanging across the back of Lola’s temporary cage like a garland and she loves it! I can tell it won’t be the last time I order it.

cherry blossom toy

I believe this toy is from the cherry blossom collection. Again, another one packed full of snappable wood beads and natural wood, so I know Lola will love it. It’s simple but sweet!

yucca and cork toy

This one I already saw Lola rip into before I left. It’s an awesome big hunk of yucca as the base, stuffed with corks and topped with shredders. She loves sinking her beak into yucca and I know she’ll have such a great time pulling those corks out. What’s best is that even after the corks are gone, it’ll be a fantastic foraging toy. Actually, I ordered two of these because I knew my mom’s Hahn’s Karat would love this one as well. Hers came with cute, colorful corks and a bell on the bottom as well!

lola’s toy

Alright, this one’s not new, but I love photographing it anyway. It’s Lola’s Toy, named for yours truly, and she just can’t get enough. It’s such a great toy and always surprises me with how pretty and well made it is. It’s really packed with a lot of parts and keeps my little girl busy. I can’t even count how many of these I’ve bought now!

We also got a few other cool items that we’ve ordered before. Danita did a beautiful job on everything as usual. Hopefully this will help to keep Lola somewhat busy this summer but I have a feeling I’ll be placing a mid-summer order soon to keep her toys plentiful. 🙂

Tagged: , , ,

§ 2 Responses to A Somber Summer

  • Anneka says:

    I’m very sorry you lost your Sabrina. That is so sad, and also that all your budgies didn’t live for too long 😦
    Were they from the same store or breeder?
    Was Lola any close to Sabrina ?
    Wishing you that the two mos away from home pass quickly.

    • Coco's Flock says:

      Thanks for your message Anneka. They were indeed from the same breeder. I know better now. Lola and Sabrina weren’t close at all… completely ignored each other. I suppose it’s good that Lola isn’t really mourning her loss at all. I’m not sure I’d be able to be apart from her at this time if she were.

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Somber Summer at Coco's Flock.

meta