Getting Started with Essential Oils

December 30, 2013 § 6 Comments

I’ve been getting a lot of questions about this recently, so I figured it would be useful for everybody to have all of this information in one central location.  If you’ve already done the research about Young Living essential oils and have decided to give it a go, then this is how to get started.  (If you’d like to learn more, I’ve written two introductory posts here: Essential Oils and Parrots on what essential oils are, why you should only use Young Living, and why you might want to use them with parrots; and My First Diffusing Experience on how I got started, the oils and diffuser I initially chose, and its effects on my flock.)

First, you’ll need to decide whether you just want to purchase YLEOs, or if you want to become a “distributor.”  A lot of people think that being a distributor must mean that it carries the obligation to, well, distribute.  It does not.  In fact, being a distributor carries few obligations at all.  I believe that the only obligation is to keep your account active, which means placing an order once a year.  You have no obligations to recruit or to sell or to advertise, or anything like that.  However, if you do decide to become a distributor, you enjoy wholesale prices on all YL products, which is a cool 24% off!  I personally think this is a fantastic deal and recommend everybody to sign up as a distributor.  The savings truly adds up, and you’ll make the price of the Starter Kit back in no time.

Next, you’ll need to pick your starter kit.  There are a few different options, all of which you can read about and compare here on the Young Living website.  I personally went with the very Basic Starter Kit, which is the bare minimum.  I believe it’s $40, and it comes with several samples of a good variety of essential oils.  That said, however, there are more expensive kits (up to $150) that actually represent better values and even come with a diffuser.  I knew that I wanted a particular model and not the one that came with the more expensive kits, which is why I went with the Basic Starter Kit.  I have heard good things about the Premium Starter Kit from several people though, as it comes with a wide variety of oils and a diffuser, so you can get started right out of the box.

Finally, you’ll need to actually register here with Young Living.  You’ll need a referral code in order to do so.  My code is 1304850, but in the interest of full disclosure, I do supposedly make a small commission for referring people.  So, please feel free to use my code, or anybody else’s if that makes you uncomfortable.  (I don’t do this for the commission!)

And that’s it!  It’s a very quick and easy process, and the discount is quite significant.  I’ve earned back my initial $40 investment through the discount at least a few times over now.  As always, please be sure to do your own research and make your own educated decision.  I personally feel that these are safe and beneficial to use with my flock but some parrots might react differently.

Tagged: ,

§ 6 Responses to Getting Started with Essential Oils

  • Melissa says:

    Hi Coco,
    Are you still diffusing with essential oils? If so, how are you birds doing? Also, are you still using the same diffuser? I noticed that some of the later reviews for that brand are not favorable, so I didn’t know if the manufacturer had changed something. Do you know if the plastic is BPA free?
    Thanks in advance for any information.
    Melissa

    • Coco's Flock says:

      Hi Melissa! Yes, I am! They are doing great and we still enjoy them very much. I do use the same diffuser and have actually purchased a second (new) one in the past few months… no complaints here yet? Great question about the plastic… I did not even think of that and I am usually so paranoid about plastics 😦 I will ask the manufacturer. Is there an issue with BPA leaching into the oils somehow or could BPA be diffused into the air??

      • Melissa says:

        Hi Coco,
        Thank you so much for your response! I have been enjoying reading your blog (jealous of your cages, too)!

        I’m not exactly sure about BPA getting into the air (I’ve read that it can, but don’t know what to believe). It’s just a concern of mine since that’s one aspect of plastics that we are made aware. I have heard that plastics constantly outgas, but *what* they outgas, I’m not sure.

        I understand that the essential oils that are to be used around parrots should be therapeutic grade, but I also wonder if using essential oils on/in plastics constantly couldn’t break down the plastics over time. Since this diffuser doesn’t heat, maybe it’s not as big of a deal.

        I don’t mean to cause any alarm. These are just some thoughts I had when trying to decide which diffuser to try. Of course, I don’t know as I’ve run across one yet that doesn’t have plastic on the inside. There are some diffusers that are advertised as BPA free.

        If you find anything out from the manufacturer, I would appreciate knowing what they say.

        Sincerely,
        Melissa

      • Coco's Flock says:

        Oh, no trouble at all. These are important questions to which I’d like to know the answers as well. I do remember back when I first got this diffuser I asked why essential oils should always be stored in glass only but that putting it in a plastic diffuser was okay– wouldn’t it degrade, etc. Unfortunately I can’t find the answer but I was explained why it was safe, and thought it made sense, at least at the time. I will also ask the manufacturer again though as that’s something good to know. When I hear back on both of these questions, I will let you know!

    • Coco's Flock says:

      Hi Melissa, just heard back! They responded to me that the bowl of the diffusers is made of nylon, which they say is chemically resistant to essential oils, and contains no plasticizers. Although stronger EOs like clove, cinnamon, and wintergreen might stain the bowl, they don’t cause it to break down. They didn’t address the BPA question specifically but I am not sure if BPA is included under the umbrella of “plasticizers”? I did some brief googling and apparently Nylon is generally considered safe even for food service and cooking so long as it’s not heated, and doesn’t appear to have BPA, although I’m not 100% sure about that. I hope this helps.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Getting Started with Essential Oils at Coco's Flock.

meta

