My Attempt at a Grain Bake

November 4, 2013 § Leave a comment

Patricia Sund’s blog post on her grain bake has been spreading like wildfire.  I decided to give it a try and see if it was something that my girls would like, too. Normally, their dinnertime meal is a cooked mash that I make fresh every night. My little princesses have never taken well to eating anything that has been previously frozen and reheated, with the one exception of bird bread. But I figured I’d give it a shot, at least a miniature one in case it wasn’t a hit. I made mine in a small (about five inch) pie plate, rather than one of the larger baking dishes, just to test it out.

the organic grain and legume base

I used a base of several organic and GMO-free grains and legumes.  I think all in all there was tricolor sprouted quinoa, three kinds of sprouted lentils, wheat berries, brown rice, rye berries, spelt, pearled barley, bulgur, and buckwheat groats.

topped off with fresh, organic butternut squash, carrots, cranberries, and pomegranate

Next, I threw in a variety of fresh, organic, and seasonal fruits and vegetables, including several of Lola’s favorites: butternut squash, carrots, cranberries, and pomegranate arils.  I filled it up with water and into the oven it went at 350 degrees.

the finished product, right out of the oven

It cooked more quickly than I’d expected, but then again it was a very small portion.  I just let it bake until all of the water had been soaked up by the grains and legumes, which probably took no more than 30 or 35 minutes.  I’m not sure why, but I thought that when it came out of the oven, it would be solid in texture like a bird bread or like a baked cracker, but instead everything keeps its own independent consistency.  (It makes sense; there is no agent to stick any of it together.  Not sure why I was expecting any different.)  It is actually somewhat similar to their normal mash, but the grains are harder and less mushy than I typically got on the stovetop.

The bad news is, my girls haven’t taken to it.  I knew Sabrina wouldn’t go for any of the veggies but she snubbed the grains too.  I think they are a bit al dente for her tastes.  Lola, too, wasn’t impressed, which surprised me, because she is generally a pretty good eater.  She completely ignored all the veggies and fruits with the exception of the squash.  That one threw me for a loop because she loves them all fresh.  And she isn’t a huge fan of the grains, but she does love the baked lentils.  Not sure why she is being so picky about the rest.

The good news is, I made very little, so there isn’t too much waste, and I’m letting Lola pick the lentils out of it since she does like those.  All in all, it’s a great recipe and it’s very easy to make, but my guys wouldn’t eat it.  I might try again with more water to see if maybe a mushier consistency is more palatable to them, but until then, I guess I’m cooking them a fresh mash every night!

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My Attempt at a Grain Bake at Coco's Flock.

meta

