Sprouting, Step by Step

November 2, 2013 § 3 Comments

I was asked by a friend to help her out with how to get started sprouting.  As a big believer in sprouting, I am more than happy to help!  It’s intimidating at the outset, but with the right sprouter, it can be really simple.  These photos are admittedly pretty boring but I figured they would help with the exposition.

To get started, this is all you need.  A sprouter of your choice, and some seeds or grains to sprout.  I use the BioSnacky glass jar sprouter, but another easy option is the Easy Sprouter.  (I did a comparison of the two sprouters here.)  My sprouting mix of choice for convenience purposes is Totally Organics All-in-One Seed Mix, which I like (and think is particularly good for beginners) because it contains only seeds and grains, and no legumes.  This is important because with seeds and grains, you can feed them simply soaked before they are fully sprouted, whereas with legumes, you need to actually sprout them before they are safe to feed.  For this reason, I always sprout my legumes separately.

Now that you’ve got your supplies, the first step is to portion out how much you want to sprout.  I have a small flock, so I don’t sprout all that much.  This is probably about half a cup or so?  Remember that once you soak and sprout, the portion will at least double in size, if not more.

Next, you have to rinse them a few times.  I fill up the sprouter with water, put the cap on, swirl it around a few times, shake it up as vigorously as I can, and drain.  Repeat that two times.  This is to clean off the seeds/legumes initially (notice that the water is a little bit cloudy the first time).

Then, you can fill it up with water one last time, put the cap on, and set it on the counter to let it soak overnight (or 8-10 hours).

Here they are the next morning– the photo doesn’t show it that well, but the sprouts really expand and soak up a ton of water.

Drain one more time, and now you’re ready to feed!  At least, the initial feeding is good to go.  I only fed a small portion, so what’s left you can leave on the counter to continue draining.  Make sure that two to three times a day, you are doing one more rinse and drain, just to make sure that the sprouts stay damp and the atmosphere in the jar stays humid.

And that’s it!!  So easy, and your parrots will thank you for it!

Tagged: , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Sprouting, Step by Step

  • avianstudent says:

    I’m glad I found this post – I’ve been meaning to get a sprouter for ages, and the other article you linked is really helpful. I’m always leery of these things, mostly because of the potential for mould. But I’ve also been promised that picky parrotlets will spring for sprouts, sooo…!

    • Coco's Flock says:

      Thank you! Yes, you have to be careful about mold, but that’s actually one of the reasons I use the glass jar. The Easy Sprouter is an excellent sprouter and actually sprouts more efficiently and quickly than the glass jar, but all of mine kept starting to get moldy after a few months of use. But another trick you can use for the sprouts themselves is to add Apple Cider Vinegar. Sometimes for the last hour of the soak I will add in a dash of ACV, or I will just do an rinse with some ACV combined before serving. It helps to fight off bacteria.

  • […] essential, but ultimately simple, skills for feeding your pet birds – chop, grain bakes, and sprouts. You feed a pellet base (or maybe not, depending on your views), and save the seeds and nuts for […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sprouting, Step by Step at Coco's Flock.

meta

