More Natural Accessories

August 31, 2012 § 3 Comments

I’m a little bit behind on updates on Sabrina’s all natural habitat, but things are going well.  I’ve gotten a few really neat things and there are more on the way, but I’ll just post two orders for now.  These should make for some interesting perching solutions!

This first order is for three flat perches from Bird on the Rocks.  I’ve purchased their unique flagstone perches before, but have always felt iffy about using them because they are extremely heavy.  The owner, John, does go to great lengths to make them extra safe and sturdy– some of the larger perches will have four heavy duty stainless steel bolts!– but I’ve always been paranoid to begin with.  That said, however, I thought that some flagstone perches would really be nice touches to Sabrina’s habitat, and since I am doing away with all anything not natural, I thought they might be especially useful for some of their nail trimming properties.  John was very understanding of my worries and actually helped quell them by finding his absolute thinnest pieces of flagstone that would still hold bolts sturdily.  The pieces he picked are perfect!  I purchased one smaller one, and a long-ish ledge for Sabrina.  I also purchased a very neat sandblasted manzanita perch that is half-moon shaped on the underside.  Everything looks great and is so well made.

I also placed a small order with Make Your Own Bird Toys.  You might have noticed a relatively new toy on the market– a really neat “climbing wall” for the little guys.  I thought this was such a great idea, but it comes with a lot of different toys attached that have plastics and dyes and other things.  (It looks like a lot of fun for birds, but would defeat the “all natural” purpose for Sabrina.)  I was thinking of just purchasing it anyway and removing the attached toys, but when I went on the manufacturer’s toy part site, I realized that I could just buy the seagrass mat part separately!  So I purchased two and I could not believe how huge they are.  I put my iPhone on one of them for a size reference.  They’re massive!!  And they don’t even look as large in the photo as they do in real life.  They’re also surprisingly thick and heavy duty, which is great– Sabrina is quite a chewer, but I think it’ll take her a good, long while to make any substantial dent in this guy.  I’m thinking of maybe hanging one on the back wall of her cage as a kind of total surface jungle gym for her.  I was originally thinking of maybe putting some kind of climbing net in her cage, but I think this will be a nice alternative that’s probably a little bit safer than any kind of rope.  I’ll have to think about how to hang perches but I think the holes might be just big enough that I can wedge some in between.

Stay tuned for more updates!  I got some great perches from another store too…

On another note, today marks a month since Charles passed away.  Rest in peace, love.  Thinking of you always.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to More Natural Accessories

  • Ellen says:

    Everything looks awesome! Thanks so much for the “Make your own bird toys” website. They have an awesome selection, including cajeput branches 🙂

  • Iskra says:

    That’s a huge mat!!

  • HungryBird says:

    I really like that manzanita (right?) platform perch! It is so pretty! I hate your site because every time I visit I am faced with incredible temptation! Those mats are pretty cool too, I know Juliet would enjoy climbing all over one of those.

    If you get a chance can you post a picture of the wooden platform perch attached to the bars of the cage? Just curious to see how it looks when it is actually attached.

    If you remember I ordered a ton of Flagstone perches a while ago and I have used all sizes and never had any issues with them slipping. Of course I do use a wrench to tighten the heavier pieces just in case!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading More Natural Accessories at Coco's Flock.

meta

