Operation All Natural

August 6, 2012 § 8 Comments

I’ve been spending a lot of time thinking about Sabrina lately and how I can keep her happy.  She and I don’t have the best relationship– she is not at all tame– and thus it’s difficult for me to be there for her.  She truly is a wild one, which got me to thinking that perhaps she’d really like a more wild, untamed setting in her cage.  A while back I found a fantastic video with an incredible all natural setup for several linnies.  You can view it here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8hlL169hnw8  (it’s not my video).  I really think Sabrina would absolutely love something like this.  Her favorite things to do are chew and destroy natural wood bark, as well as to shred naturals like palm and seagrass.  She also loves fresh wheatgrass and leafy greens to destroy, so I think I’m going to give it a try.

I’ve been brainstorming all different sorts of things to add with plenty of help from my friends over at Avian Avenue.  Some of the things I already have and some of I’ll need to purchase,  but here’s some of what I’ve come up with so far:

  • Plenty of all natural wood branches and perches in woods like grapevine, cageput, willow, cottonwood, sandblasted manzanita, ribbonwood, dragonwood, elm, eucalyptus, etc.
  • Platform perches in flagstone as well as wood like birch, pine, willow, cork bark, etc.
  • Possibly a cork bark round
  • Natural wood bridges/ladders from which she can swing and climb
  • A big grapevine wood swing with several branches to climb and play on
  • Wheatgrass, barley grass, and sunflower grass plants
  • Sisal or some other natural rope perches and boings and swings
  • A hanging coconut cup or swing
  • Lots of natural toys to shred and destroy

I think this really has potential to be an extra enriching environment.  I have been trying to think of some sort of miniature climbing net as well, and then I thought maybe one of those climbing/activity walls that are made of those seagrass mats would work for in the cage?  I could remove all of the toys that come with it and add some of my own.  Might be worth a shot.

Anyway, this is my latest project, and I’ll probably be working on it for a while, but I think it’s going to be good.  And more importantly, I think Sabrina will love it.

Tagged: , ,

§ 8 Responses to Operation All Natural

  • Iskra says:

    I like the idea of a climbing net!I wanted one for Lino, but I’m not too sure how to incorporate it. I like more natural setup for all parrots, because if you (and I’m sure you will) provide lots of climbing spaces, they use their cage bars a lot less for moving around. i never liked when my parrots use cage bars to get around their cages.

  • Jodi says:

    I’ll be anxiously awaiting your follow up to making Sabrina’s abode au naturel and learning what sources you find to make her home wonderful.

  • Anneka says:

    I too will be waiting for pics as you go along making Sabrina a more natural habitat.
    I have seen this video before. I have not seen a better, more natural setup for a captive bird (unless it is a cage-free living).

    But why not creating something similar and also bringing home a friend for Sabrina, another budgie, or you might end up with Sabrina having a great setup with lots of natural things to play with but still being lonely.

    • Coco's Flock says:

      That’s true… but I have a few considerations. First, I really want to concentrate on repairing my relationship with Sabrina. Since she was brought in really just to be a friend to Charles, and she was extremely skittish, I never tried hard to make it work between us. So I’d like to remedy that if I can.

      Second, I’m not sure I’m ready for another budgie, to be honest, or that I really want one. Their lifespans are so short and it’s really heartbreaking to me. I’d really want to seek out an excellent, responsible breeder who breeds for health and longevity but in budgies, that simply doesn’t happen, and if there is one like that, I doubt they’re close by me. But I really don’t want to go through the pain of losing another little one in such a short time otherwise… it’s too much 😦

  • Anneka says:

    You are right about budgies’ lifespan. Books say budgies live up to 10-15 yrs, but what we see, how soon they leave us, does not make this statement true. I do not know if there is even a handful of them making past 10, which is rather sad.

    Hope that creating that special bond with Sabrina works for her and you. Most importantly that she does not feel lonely.

  • Why does Gramma have a mustache? says:

    For all you do…and have done over time…to make your fur babies lives wonderfully happy, I hope whatever you do makes you wonderfully happy!

  • Why does Gramma have a mustache? says:

    arrr…feathered babies…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Operation All Natural at Coco's Flock.

meta

