Charles’s Burial and Necropsy Results

August 2, 2012 § 13 Comments

Today I buried Charles in my parents’ yard next to his beloved Theodore.  He had a short but sweet ceremony.  Immediately after it was over, the sky opened up and wept for him, too.

As some may know, Charles had not quite been at 100% for quite some while, but he was very strong and very stable.  In the past week, however, his condition rapidly deteriorated and he began breathing extremely heavily for no apparent reason, eating less, and even once began making extremely disconcerting gurgling noises while I was clipping his nails (which he usually doesn’t mind at all).  I took him to one vet who thought that he either had an infection in his trachea or that he had a piece of food stuck in his trachea, either of which were not allowing him to breathe properly.  She wanted to sedate him and do surgery in order to either treat the infection or remove the blockage.  I was skeptical that he would survive sedation and surgery and decided to seek out a second opinion.

The second vet was unsure in her diagnosis but thought it could be a few different things, all of which were easily treat-able and could be done as preventative measures without ill effects, so we went ahead and tried a few.  He was a good sport about all of it, although he was breathing very heavily again.  That night, Charles actually seemed to be doing far better and his appetite was back.  The next morning, he was playing on his boing and suddenly began sneezing, squeaking, breathing heavily, and holding his wings far away from his body.  He looked as if he could barely perch and as I held out my hand, he shut his eyes and passed away in my palm.  It was all over in a matter of seconds.

That day I had a necropsy performed by the second vet to find out the cause of death.  She found an enlarged kidney mass (tumor) in him.  Charles had cancer.  Unlike most kidney tumors, which usually cause a leg to go limp and are sometimes detected earlier on by inability to perch, Charles’s tumor was pushing against his air sacs and preventing him from being able to breathe properly, which is not a typical symptom.  I never suspected cancer, although the placement of his tumor explained his heavy panting and struggles with breathing.

Thank you so much to everybody for your love and support.  It has been a very difficult week for me and Sabrina.  I never expected him to go so soon or so young.  He was my heart and soul and the light of my life.  I never knew I could love anybody as much as I loved Charles.  Charles, I wish I could have saved you.  I’m sorry I didn’t discover the problem until it was too late.  I hope your last days were not too painful.  I love you so, so much and I hope you are happy and safe with Theodore now.

Tagged:

§ 13 Responses to Charles’s Burial and Necropsy Results

  • Anneka says:

    Goodness!
    I had no idea he was not doing well lately.
    Seems as he was trying to overcome this till the very end. Brave little boy!
    RIP

  • JR says:

    Charles hid his illness well, so very sad, RIP little guy.

  • Cathy says:

    I am so sorry. But it should be a relief to know you did nothing wrong for this to happen. I read the necropsy results and if you did get the surgery done it would not of help. It sounds like the cancerous tumor was way too big. I know words do not help the healing. Only time will. HUG

  • Yvonne says:

    I am so sorry. I am very sad. But he is at peace now.

  • Thistle says:

    My heart goes out to you during this difficult time of loss. I’m so sorry.

  • Peachfront says:

    It sounds like he was very brave, and you did everything you could. As Cathy said, hugs and do not blame yourself. It was beyond any human control.

  • Iskra says:

    poor little boy, going through all that 😦

  • Doris says:

    Such masters at hiding illness. Brave, strong little Charles – he was the happiest well-loved budgie! I am glad you got necropsy answers, many times there are none. Fly free Charles!

  • Saemmabel says:

    Thanks for sharing. Your heartfelt tribute and public declaration about your love for Charles has brought tears to my eyes. He is at peace now and pain free. You did everything you could do with the best that you had. Strong gentle hugs to you my friend.

  • Ming-Ming says:

    *hugs*
    So sorry Coco, i know how much you loved Charles, and he loved you.
    Fly free Charles, with your beloved Theodore!

  • Jennifer Yen from India says:

    My heart goes out to you for little Charles. I have tears in my eyes while I write this…. I can understand how much it hurts especially coz our little ones are so helpless and depend on us for everything. Remember always, that you did your best and gave him all the love which was probably all that he wanted…Time will heal my dear…. little Charles is free and happy, flying over the rainbow with Theodore. God Bless….

  • Oh Coco. I’m so very sorry for you and Sabrina. *hugs*

  • Wazeau says:

    I’m very sorry for your loss. Try to remember the good moments and as long as you do he will live on in your memories.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Charles’s Burial and Necropsy Results at Coco's Flock.

meta

