Lola’s New Setup

July 12, 2012 § 6 Comments

Well, summer is in full swing and yet things haven’t slowed down one bit here!  We’ve had a very busy past month or so what with lots of traveling and temporary stays and a recent move as well.  We’re juggling some unique challenges with our new home, but the cages, at least, are finally all set up and things are starting to feel somewhat normal here.  While we’re still easing into our surroundings, I thought I’d share Lola’s latest cage setup.  I’m not quite sure if it’s perfect just yet but I’ll be moving things around and tweaking positions as necessary while I observe her.

In case it’s been so long that you’ve forgotten who Lola is, here she is checking out her new surroundings!

a full frontal view of her new setup

There it is!  And there she is too.  That’s what it looks like with the door closed, but let’s go ahead and peek inside…  I apologize for the poor quality photos.  There’s ample light in the room but for some reason, my camera insisted on using the flash.  I’ve also never been a great photographer.

Here it is opened up!  On the door, there’s a really neat grapevine perch from Things for Wings, along with an acrylic foraging chest with great drawers that slide from side to side rather than opening from the front (they’re a bit more challenging).  It’s one of my favorite foraging toys (and it’s made from a food safe plastic!), and it’s from Parrot Island Inc.

Looking a little bit closer, on the far left up top there’s the Oliver’s Garden Skywalk platform perch with beads (a favorite of Lola’s), along with a great comfy cotton rope perch, a custom item from Grey Feather Toys.  Behind that is her favorite snuggly swing, made from supreme cotton rope by Big Beaks Bird Toys, and below that are some different natural wood perches, her stainless steel toy bucket, and her MegaFone.  On the left there’s a corner style sandblasted manzanita perch. What you see in front on the skewer is an ugly home made foraging toy that she likes to fish dry foods out of.  I have a second one that I’m going to install somewhere else as well (she forages for a lot of her food now, which is great).  There’s also a water bowl somewhere over there, but I’m not sure if it’s visible.

Okay, and on the right side we have some more fun.  Behind the big natural wood toy (another ugly homemade creation) is a bamboo perch, flanked by two great stainless steel toys.  I situated those two toys in those places because they are above food and water bowls, and I don’t want Lola chipping her wood into her food or water.  There are a few other perches: more sandblasted manzanita, manu minerals, and some other natural wood, along with a neat corkscrew from Mother Pluckin’ Bird Toys loaded with almond-stuffed wood blocks and, I believe, one more ugly homemade toy.

I know it’s not quite easy on the eyes, but we’re waiting on a nice big box from Things for Wings with what I’m sure will be beautiful toys, so for the time being Lola has to make do with my thrown-together creations.  So far, she doesn’t seem to mind too much.

In other news, she’s been talking up a storm and absolutely loves singing and dancing.  It’s beyond cute.  If I’m on the computer or preoccupied with something, she’ll start bopping her head and singing to herself.  The budgies are also doing well.  I don’t want to jinx it, but they’ve been living together harmoniously for the past few days!  They have a divider between them, but rather than a solid acrylic one, it’s stainless steel barred, and they haven’t been bothering each other at all.  I’m crossing my fingers that soon, they won’t even need a divider and they can share the entire space.  Setting up their cage with the divider can be a challenge.  I’ll post photos of that next time 🙂

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to Lola’s New Setup

  • Maya says:

    It looks fantastic! 😉 I really love the natural look of everything with just those tiny splashes of color with the beads and washers. Can’t wait to see what you’ve done with the budgie cage!

  • Peachfront says:

    Awwww. Looks terrific!

  • Natacha says:

    Cutie Lola!
    Your toys look great! I can’t wait to get my EH cage!

  • Anneka says:

    I have been wondering what happened to you lately because there were no new posts 😦
    I too like the setup. Good for our captive birds because you used mostly natural accessories.
    A few yrs ago, I was able to buy colored washers, just like yours but now can’t find them anywhere. Have you bought them recently and if yes, from where? I’d love to have more of yellows – my favorite color.
    Glad to hear Charles and Sabrina are doing well and can’t wait to see their setup.

    • Coco's Flock says:

      Thanks everybody!! 🙂

      The colored washers were custom made… I really wanted the ones that used to be made but the company seems to have stopped production. I called up a local acrylics company to have them cut but I haven’t been able to find anybody who sells them ready made or in smaller quantities, unfortunately.

  • Anneka says:

    That snuggly swing caught my eye. Looks like I am going shopping 🙂 because my green-cheeck would love it.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Lola’s New Setup at Coco's Flock.

meta

