Peace & Calming through Essential Oils

March 2, 2012 § 4 Comments

Yesterday, I diffused a new Young Living essential oil, Peace & Calming, for the first time.  Wow.  What an effect!  Again, almost immediately, all three of my birds this time responded very positively to the new scent wafting through the air.  Charles and Sabrina again had the most dramatic reactions.  Both of them were immediately calmed by the essential oil, and their noisy chatter turned into very pleasant, soft, higher-pitched chirps.  Sabrina actually stopped trying to attack Charles through the acrylic divider in their cage, and the two of them sat across from each other making lovey-dovey eyes.  It was unbelievable!  Lola, too, actually responded to this oil.  Usually in the afternoon when I come home from work, she is hyperactive and anxious to get out of her cage.  But as soon as I started diffusing, she stopped her squeaking and begging, and sat on the platform perch in front of her cage and just soaked it in.  She seemed utterly at peace and actually okay with the fact that I was home and she was in her cage.

In the spirit of disseminating practical advice for using essential oils with birds, I’ll talk about some of the more logistical things.  Since I last wrote about essential oils, I have worked my way up to full thirty minute diffusion sessions once daily with my birds.  Because tomorrow is Saturday, I will probably try more than one diffusion session in a day for the first time.  Conservative estimates generally consider three thirty-minute sessions a day to be safe (again, keeping to a schedule of either three days on, one day off; or five days on, two days off).

I had been diffusing Joy for about one week when I decided to switch.  There was still a small amount of Joy essential oil diluted with water in my diffuser, however, and I could have poured it into a glass bottle for keeping for further use.  This is okay to do so long as the smell of the essential oil is still strong; once the scent degrades, so do the beneficial effects.  Unfortunately, I did not have any receptacles handy and decided to pour out the extra Joy mixture.  I am not sure how much longer the mixture would have lasted, but I wanted to try a new oil.  I suppose I should invest in a few glass jars for the future.  But I poured it out and rinsed out the bowl of my diffuser, and switched to a few drops of Peace & Calming instead.  We will probably continue using this oil for another week or so, or until the mixture is completely diffused (since I am diffusing for longer amounts of time, it might be used up more quickly).

fleece-covered platform perches

Since we’re on the topic of peace and calming, I figured I’d also throw in a photo of these very adorable little fleece-covered platform perches I recently had custom made from a chinchilla shop actually.  They are regular pine wood platform perches with stainless steel hardware, only they have little envelope-style covers made to fit over them so that the birds have a snug and cozy place to rest their feet.  There’s one for each.  I hope they like them!

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Peace & Calming through Essential Oils

  • Saemmabel says:

    Thanks Coco. Interesting info. How much $$ should someone expect to spend just to start out on this?

    • Coco's Flock says:

      Well, if you are just starting out with the basics, I think a reasonable estimate would be around $150? The diffuser I purchased was $75 and an enrollment starter kit through Young Living is $40. That comes with peppermint and lavender EOs so if that’s all you want, you’re done there. If you want the other oils, they range in price from $10-40 or so each, so it depends on how much variety in EOs you are looking for 🙂

  • Saemmabel says:

    Thanks for the headsup Coco!

  • Jen Parker says:

    Wow, I’m going to have to try this setup! I have 2 VERY high-strung conures (a sun and a blue crowned) and it would be worth seeing if this will calm them down a bit… it might even relax my more laid-back green cheek conures (she still has her moments) and my African grey (whom I think goes stir crazy being around movers & shakers & screamers). Thank you for the tip!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Peace & Calming through Essential Oils at Coco's Flock.

meta

