Wet Bird! And a New Fruit Salad

January 19, 2012 § 7 Comments

Lola took a highly coveted human shower today.  She absolutely loves getting in the shower (rather than taking baths in her bowls, which she also enjoys).  She sits underneath the shower head, soaking it up, closing her eyes, shaking it out, etc.  It is too cute. She gets completely and utterly soaked!  I wish I could get a video without destroying my camera, but alas, that won’t happen.  Afterwards, she likes to dry off by flying around like crazy and refusing to let me take any clear photos of her.

"What, mom?? Will you get the stupid camera out of my face?"

In other news, today, for the first time, I made a big batch of fruit salad and actually froze it. I feed my guys a lot of veggies and fruits daily, but usually I chop up only what I can serve that day (or what will stay good in the refrigerator for 2-3 days) because I’d never been very successful with freezing then defrosting– everything always turns into a disgusting mush.  I went a little fruit-happy, however, at the supermarket recently, and there was no way I was going to finish all of my fruit before it went bad, so I decided to try my hand at a frozen fruit salad.  Here it is!

It contains fresh, organic papaya, two types of mango, pear, apple, pineapple, and kiwi.  I also threw in a bunch of mixed berries afterwards: blackberries, strawberries, and blueberries.  There are also lemon slices in there, which I added (along with freshly squeezed lemon juice) to keep the apples and pears from browning.  There are three or four additional containers, all of which went into the freezer.  Who knows?  Maybe I’ll defrost one and open it up and it’ll be a disgusting pile of mush, and a big waste.  That would be a little depressing, but you live and learn.  Maybe if that happens, I can mash it all up and put it into a batch of bird bread, or something.  Hmm…

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 7 Responses to Wet Bird! And a New Fruit Salad

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Wet Bird! And a New Fruit Salad at Coco's Flock.

meta

