Updated Review: King’s 33×25 Aluminum Cage

January 1, 2012 § 7 Comments

Happy New Year!!  Here’s to new beginnings in 2012.  I hope you all have a very happy and healthy new year.

Since Lola has had her King’s Cages 33×25 flat top aluminum cage for over a year now, I figured it would be a good time to write an updated review.  (You can read the original review here.)  To re-state, this is not her normal cage, this is a temporary cage that we use only when we are visiting my parents’ house.  I feel that it is too small for her as a normal cage and that a bird her size really needs much more space.  As a temporary cage, however, it does a great job.

the entire cage

the view with the door open

Here’s how the cage currently looks. I still like the simple shape (although I do think that the dome top is quite nice too, plus it offers a lot more vertical space). I like that it is streamlined and I like the silver on silver coloring. More importantly, it functions really well as a temporary cage because it is so incredibly lightweight and easy to move. I can’t tell you what an enormous world of difference it makes, especially in comparison to Lola’s stainless steel cage at home. It is a breeze to wheel around and even to lift, if I have to. That said, it isn’t at all flimsy, but rather it is very sturdy and strong.  That’s the beauty of aluminum!

One downside of aluminum, however, is that it is the biggest pain to clean.  It seems that once anything dries onto it, it is there to stay, unless you scrub and scrub and scrub until your fingers and hands are sore.  I will admit that Lola is a disgustingly messy eater, but this cage is definitely more difficult to clean than both her stainless steel and her powder-coated cages.

the inner right side of Lola's cage

the inner left side of Lola's cage

As you can see, it’s not a huge cage, but it has ample room for at least a few different types of perches and toys.  I currently have Lola set up with a grapevine wood perch, a platform perch, two ribbonwood perches (one double bolted), a safety pedicure perch, and a great cotton boing.  She has a good amount of toys, and two food bowls as well.  By the way, that sad looking brown and orange toy up top used to look like this:

the original U Crabby? toy

Lola seems to have had a blast destroying the once adorable little crab.  You might also remember the adorable custom Snowman toy that Lola got for Christmas, which was once very big and loaded with toy parts.  Well, here’s what the poor thing looks like now:

That’s really all that’s left of the toy– that and a vineball or two underneath– and the only poor remaining Snowman head looks like he suffered a zombie apocalypse and had his brains eaten.

Anyway, back to the cage.  My biggest complaint is the feeder doors.  They are a real pain in the bum to clean.  I have the “upgraded” stainless steel bowls, which I highly recommend for anybody purchasing this cage.  They look like this:

But the way that the doors are made, with all of the ridges, make them the perfect spot for tons of little crumbs and husks and other bits of food to get stuck!

As you can see, lots of little bits and pieces can get stuck in there, and that’s after being wiped away.  I had to get a toothbrush to clean these out properly (and I have to do it after every meal too).  I wouldn’t bother to use the feeder doors at all and just get separate ring holders to put elsewhere, but my mother doesn’t feel comfortable with Lola’s beak and likes using the feeder doors.

Aside from the feeder doors, I have one other warning.  I say warning because it’s not really a complaint, but just a warning that there is a good reason that these cages do not come in bigger sizes, as they are NOT meant for larger birds.  I as well as many other people have contacted King’s asking if they will do larger sizes, but they said no because the aluminum is not strong enough to stand up to bigger beaks.  I was confused by this because there is another company that makes aluminum cages for macaws and cockatoos, but apparently the anodization process is key here.  As you may know, aluminum is a highly toxic metal, and poses a great danger to birds if ingested.  Aluminum cages, however, are generally considered safe because they are anodized, a process that makes them incredibly hard and durable, and in some cases can make them even more hard than stainless steel.  But it depends on to what extent they are anodized.

I guess that the aluminum that King’s uses is anodized, but not to the point that it is harder than stainless steel, as I would guess the other company’s aluminum cages are.  I was putting together Lola’s King’s aluminum travel cage prior to the visit to prepare everything, and I accidentally slammed it against something else (I’m really clumsy).  I can’t remember exactly what, but it must’ve been pretty hard because it actually chipped part of the square tubing of her cage.  Some aluminum flaked off, which could have easily been ingested (and would have cause heavy metal poisoning).  Thankfully it was only on an isolated part on the outside of the cage, so it’s not an issue, but it did show me that I have to be very careful with aluminum.  I am fairly certain that Lola’s beak isn’t quite strong enough to chip it as she plays pretty rough and tumble in her travel and temporary cages, and thankfully doesn’t show much interest in attempting to chip it, but a large macaw or a cockatoo would be a different story.

All in all, this really is a great and very well-made cage, but please remember to keep the appropriately sized bird in it.  You do not want to take the risk of keeping a larger bird with a more powerful beak in a cage this size, not only because it is too small, but because it might pose a metal poisoning risk.  I would say that this makes a great cage for smaller poicephalus, pionus, conures, etc., or a temporary cage for a slightly larger bird.

I hope this updated review helps, and once more, a very Happy New Year to you and yours.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 7 Responses to Updated Review: King’s 33×25 Aluminum Cage

  • Natacha says:

    Poor U Crabby! LOL! Lola is looking lovely!
    Happy New Year to you!

  • Jaime says:

    I was thinking of getting this cage with the 5/8th bar spacing for my tiel. Do you find any build up of any aluminum oxide on the bars. Iam worry because my tiel is little and would not want him to injest anything dangerous. I called a breeder who says the cages are fine. Also two avian vets one said they are fine and the other said no they are worried about aluminum oxidation
    Is the cage easy to clean and are you still liking it for your bird.
    Thanks for the help and great review 🙂

    • Coco's Flock says:

      Hi there Jaime, I realize this is long overdue and I apologize for that, but there is absolutely not build up of any aluminum oxide on the bars. This cage looks like new for me and I am very pleased with how it has held up despite my very destructive little bird 🙂

  • Susan howard says:

    Your review has been very helpful, comprehensive and well written. An updated review after a year of experiences really answers all of my questions. I have been looking for a new travel cage for my Congo African grey. I’m going to look up your initial review now, but just wanted to say thank you.

  • Trisha says:

    Hi there! I just stumbled upon your blog. I have the same aluminum cage from Kings in a slightly smaller size for a small Quaker 🙂 Just wanted to pass along my secret weapon against welded on poops. I use one of those hand held Shark Steam Cleaners with one of the little scrubber brush attachments on it. It definitely makes the process much easier and is chemical and cleanser free 🙂 For in between big cleanings I use Poop Off Wipes.

  • Audrey Yu-Speight says:

    I purchased 2 aluminum bird cages (one large, one travel) directly from Kings Cages in February 2014. The cages come with plastic feeder bowls that hang over the top of the feeder door. The only way to get the bowls in and out is to open the feeder door. The feeder doors are secured with U shaped plastic feeder door locks. After only 18 WEEKS of use, all 3 feeder door locks cracked & broke on my aluminum cage and no longer lock. The bird can slide the lock open from the inside since the plastic parts no longer lock. The feeder door locks cannot be replaced because the company is out of these parts. The plastic parts on these cages did not last long in my case so BEWARE of these cages!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Updated Review: King’s 33×25 Aluminum Cage at Coco's Flock.

meta

