The Budgies’ New Cages

December 29, 2011 § 7 Comments

We’re a tad late, but Happy Holidays to all of you, for whatever you celebrate, be it Christmas, Hannukah, the Winter Solstice, etcetera.  🙂  We’ve been having a wonderful and very relaxing holiday season over here visiting my parents.  As I mentioned in my last entry, lucky little Charles and Sabrina received two brand new “temporary” cages for Christmas, to use while we are visiting.  They are really adorable and are working out well for them.  Unfortunately I forgot to bring extra perches and things so we’re a little bit short on perches, but luckily I did bring plenty of Christmas toys, so they do have quite a few adorable ornaments.  Without further ado, here are the photos!

Charles and Sabrina's new cages

Aren’t they cute?  You might recognize them as I had one of them before, from I’m not sure where actually, but I accidentally broke it (dropped the base and cracked it) a while back now.  As temporary cages, the size is adequate: they are about 24″ wide by 14″ deep.  (I do really wish they were deeper, but what can you do?)  They do pretty much get an entire room to themselves for most of the day, though, so I don’t think they mind terribly.  I really like these cages, however, because they were made in Italy with strict safety standards and are really well made.  I also think that they’re just adorable.

Charles's cage

Sabrina's cage

They have powder-coated wire and a translucent blue acrylic base.  I really like that there is no grate (I’m not a grate person), just a tray, and that everything is very easy to clean.  The wire part detaches from the base as well for further ease of cleaning.  Another very convenient feature is that a single page of newspaper fits almost perfectly in the bottom!  So easy to line and change.

a nifty side door

One of my favorite features of this cage is that it has side doors on both sides of the cage… which is really nice for setting up and arranging things, and also nice for the birds, as a lot of the time I will put perches outside so that they can come and go as they please.  Sabrina loves to have a platform perch put right outside of a side door so that she can relax on her little “balcony.”

a closer look at Charles's cage

Charles loves his little Christmas tree!

Charles has all of his usual comforts, but is really enjoying this little Christmas tree.  It is so cute!!  He usually doesn’t bother much with vine or wicker things, but the beads and seagrass are really enticing him.  I was shocked that he wasn’t scared of this toy at all, either.  He still hasn’t warmed up to the silly little snowman head yet, but perhaps by next year.

a closer look at Sabrina's cage

Sabrina's Christmas Shopping bag

Sabrina doesn’t like moving (or change in general really) so she’s been a little surly with me, but she has taken solace in retail therapy… just take a look at the poor Christmas Shopping bag!  She’s worn it down.  There’s a massive hole in the front of it.  I’ve figured out her method: she dumps everything out of it (and probably laughs to herself while she watches me pick it all back up and try to stuff it back in), then climbs inside the bag and destroys it from within.  It’s actually quite amusing to watch; her whole entire body fits inside this bag.  Only her little tail sticks out!

Anyway, there they are, shiny and lovely, and doing their jobs well.  I am very pleased that they have adorable, matching new cages that I can feel safe putting them in while we are away from home.  Coming up next, I took some updated photos of Lola’s aluminum cage and will writing an updated review of it now that I’ve had it for a longer while.  Stay tuned!

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 7 Responses to The Budgies’ New Cages

  • Natacha says:

    Nice looking cages. I’m intrigued about the covers that are over what I assume are holes where food bowls, probably plastic, would go. Did they come with the cage?

  • Jamie says:

    Wow, those cages do look nice. Could you tell me what brand or model they are? I’ve never seen any like them.

    • Coco's Flock says:

      Absolutely! They are made by Expandable Habitats, a custom cage company that uses only stainless steel. Everything is totally American made as well. I can’t say enough good things about them. If you click the tag “expandable habitats” on my blog, you’ll see a lot more photos and reviews. Here’s their website: http://expandablehabitats.com/

  • Jamie says:

    The Expandable Habitat cages do look awesome, but I was actually looking at your budgies’ temporary cages–made in Italy, with translucent bottom sections?

    • Coco's Flock says:

      Oh, I’m so sorry about that, I got an email about this comment and didn’t know which entry it was attached to. These are from a company called Fop Italia which generally aren’t available in the US but my mother knows a wholesaler who managed to pick them up for us. I’m sorry I can’t be of more help!

  • Jamie says:

    That’s very helpful actually, thanks! You’ve got some pretty lucky birds. 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Budgies’ New Cages at Coco's Flock.

meta

