The Scary Swing

December 6, 2011 § 3 Comments

It’s big.  It’s ominous.  It creaks as it sways, side by side, like a ghost in the night– one moment so horrifyingly visible; the next, just a nightmare.  But you know it hasn’t gone away.  No, its presence still looms over you, waiting to lunge when you least expect it.  It’ll swallow you up in a second if you’re not careful!!  That’s right… it’s the SCARY SWING!!!

Pretty terrifying, isn't it?

That’s what Sabrina would say, anyway.  I had this adorable swing custom made for her because she is ravaging my not-very-inexpensive Grey Feather Toys custom swings, and while I am a sucker and keep caving in and purchasing her new ones (she’s on her third), I needed something else that might work intermittently.  I contacted Big Beaks Bird Toys to create Sabrina her own miniature version of the Roller Coaster Swing that Lola has and loves so much, but with some cozy fleece and supreme cotton rope so that it doubled as a snuggly and preen-able toy for Sabrina.  Personally, I think it’s adorable, plus it’s made with beautiful natural branches.  Sabrina, on the other hand, is fairly certain that it’s trying to consume her alive.

Charles and Sabrina being civil!

She hates it so much, in fact, that she actually thought it was more important to keep an eye on it to make sure it didn’t come after her than it was to pester Charles, and they actually cohabitated peacefully for over an hour today!  That’s probably a record since they’ve split.  She even shared her very coveted swing (ironically, the very one she’s working to destroy, which created the need for the new scary swing in the first place).  Aren’t they a good looking couple?

Charles takes the plunge!

Charles was actually brave enough to try out this new contraption though, and judging by the lengthy nap he decided to take on it, I think he found it quite comfortable and conducive to sleep.  At least one of them appreciates me.  He looked pretty darn sweet in there.  Now if only Sabrina would give it a try!

In related news, I think that at Sabrina’s next vet appointment, I might finally have her DNA sexed.  I want to know once and for all if she’s a boy or a girl.  She exhibits all of the behaviors of a female, but her cere still does have a substantial amount of blue on it.  If I had to guess I’d obviously say female, but my mother really and truly thinks that she should be named Sebastian again. I guess I’ll find out in January or February…

Tagged: , , ,

§ 3 Responses to The Scary Swing

  • Nikki says:

    Those two littles are so dang cute together! I really like the stuff they have Big Beak Bird Toys!

  • HungryBird says:

    I see as soon as she feels slightly threatened she decides it’s better to be nice to Charles after all in the hopes that if she stays close enough to him the evil swing monster might not get her. Or might get him first.

    They are very cute together!

    Are the pieces of the swing stainless steel? The parts with all the fleece and cotton rope. It looks so cute. I can only imagine the terror in my household if I brought one of those in the room! I bet Iggy would be the only one brave enough to go near it. Did you choose the color or do they only come in one color? Reminds me of those cute little Snuggly Swings (???) I always wanted.

    • Coco's Flock says:

      But of course it’s stainless steel!! You should know by now… 🙂

      I asked for this item to be in green fleece and because she doesn’t usually have fleece toys, she bought the fleece for me. I would guess that it’s the only color fleece she carries right now but she is very, very accommodating to custom requests.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Scary Swing at Coco's Flock.

meta

