More Stainless Steel Ring Holders!

November 30, 2011 § 7 Comments

If you read my blog, I’m sure you know that I have a bit of an obsession with stainless steel, despite how difficult it can be to find products made with it.  One of the most difficult of them all, however, are ring holders made of stainless steel (to hold food bowls).  I was lucky enough to get a few of them custom made a while back, but even still, I didn’t get to order as much as I wanted to and I am always looking for more.  Thus, I was extremely pleased to see that the Birdsafe Store now has new stainless steel bowls that actually come with stainless steel ring holders!  They only come in one size, 10 ounces, but it’ll do for the budgies.  I’m actually happy that they are in smaller sizes rather than larger because it’s the small ones that are the hardest to find.  I ordered two to test them out, and here they are!

the new stainless steel bowls and ring holders

a close up of where the ring holder is welded to the washer

They are simple in construction, but they are size appropriate and I think they will work out well.  They consist of a simple stainless steel circular rod that is welded directly to a single washer with a bolt attachment.  The second washer is removable, as is the wing nut.  The stainless steel looks sturdy and well made, and the rod is thick and not malleable.  Overall, I am very pleased with the quality of these!  Probably my only complaint is that they aren’t dump-proof, but although Sabrina does enjoy pulling the bowls out of the rings to dump them when she can, I don’t think these will pose a problem because they do fit quite snugly into the rings.  I’d be impressed if she could actually pull them out.  The only other thing is, which probably only pertains to me anyway, is that because the washer is welded to the rings, I have to use the stainless washers and can’t use acrylic ones.  Not a big deal, just an aesthetic thing.

a diameter comparison of 10 oz and 5 oz bowls

a depth comparison

Perhaps one of the most surprising things is that even though these 10 ounce bowls are technically twice as voluminous as the current five ounce ones we use, they don’t look even close two twice as big!  As you can see from the photos, both the diameter and the depth are only slightly bigger than the bowls they use now, so I might replace a few of the current ones with these to use as nice water bowls.  One of the things I really like about these is that they aren’t too deep, which makes it easier for a bird to eat or drink out of.  I think Sabrina will really enjoy using one of these as a mini bath, perhaps.  Charles, on the other hand, shows no interest in bathing… dirty bird.

some of the other items in the order

I also decided to purchase a few other fun things from the Birdsafe Store while I was making an order.  In the center is the stainless steel activity bolt, which is basically just a nice side-mounted skewer.  I like to use it as a toy base sometimes or even just stick edibles onto it for Lola.  It’s very thick and heavy duty, so it holds up well.  They also carry some great perches, and it was actually one of the very first stores that was making perches with stainless steel hardware.  I purchased two for the budgies: one beautiful grapevine wood one and another hardwood one that looks like it might be sandblasted dragonwood, which I don’t often see.  Like I said in my last entry, I love both of them for their curves and their fun shapes!  I’m trying to replace a lot of the more boring straight perches in our collection with more interesting and textured ones like these.

the grapevine wood perch's gnarly texture

With all of these new toys and perches… I think I feel a cage redecoration coming on.  I’m swamped this week, but maybe over the weekend?  I just got yet another box of Christmas toys in (will post about those soon!), so I think I will have plenty to work with…

Tagged: , ,

§ 7 Responses to More Stainless Steel Ring Holders!

  • Saemma says:

    I like!!! I will purchase for my friend’s cockatiel!!

  • Meg says:

    Yay!!!!!!!!!! I am so so so excited to see this! Most of my birds are little, so this really helps! Granted, Frank does love tipping bowls out, but he usually eats first, and sine I put a little food in several dishes, I just see the dumping as part of the fun. I am home and have that luxury.

    Do you know of any larger dishes aside form EH quite big ones?

    • Coco's Flock says:

      I thought you’d be excited 🙂 The only other ones I know of are the custom ones that Don Harris makes. Although he makes them in all sizes, I’d say they are most appropriate for the big guys. EH makes them in 24 oz and 46 oz.

  • I always love your product reviews, Coco! I need to replace some of my bowls, and I’m looking for some longer (and fun) perches. I think you’ve convinced me to do some shopping.

  • sheng says:

    I always admire your product blogs. It is nice to know that your products helps improve my everyday living.

  • HungryBird says:

    I was so excited to see the ss bowls I totally skipped over the Activity Bolt! I love those too! They can be used for everything!

    And because of this post I ordered one of those stainless steel bowls! Thanks for sharing the pictures because I never would have noticed they were available otherwise.

  • […] same one I bought before but a smaller one since it will be for food. Coco from Coco’s Flock wrote about these bowls and I was intensely jealous. Even more so when I realized they were $13 instead of $30. Now I will […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading More Stainless Steel Ring Holders! at Coco's Flock.

meta

