Instant Hits

October 21, 2011 § 2 Comments

Not that I’m at all surprised, but the new toys from Oliver’s Garden, were, of course, a huge hit with Lola.  She adores them all!!  I decided to put the Catch of the Day toy on one corner of the Crawler to spruce it up a bit.  The splash of color looks lovely against the pristine white cotton.  On the topic of the Crawler… I couldn’t be happier with mine.  It has held up so incredibly well– it still looks new!  If I’m not mistaken, I’ve actually had mine for a year now.  It looks just as it did on day one, and I’ve never had to steam clean it or throw it in the laundry.  I just spot clean when necessary, and it holds up beautifully, despite the fact that Lola does enjoy chewing on the blissfully soft cotton.  I’ll bet that it’s awfully comfortable on her feet as well 🙂

Lola getting her fill of the Catch of the Day

Anyway, back to the Catch of the Day: there’s Lola attacking one of the orange hardwood buoys.  She really adores the mix of hardwood and soft pine on this toy: one snaps so easily; the other presents a bit more of a challenge.  She also loves chewing on leather, so this toy is just perfect for her.  It doesn’t look quite as pretty anymore (those fish are missing a few large chunks, especially on their tails!), but I don’t mind!

Lola on her Skywalk

I also added Lola’s new Skywalk platform perch to her cage– what an awesome perch.  She took to immediately, of course.  This perch is enormous!!  I absolutely love it.  It measures an extra large 14″ wide– and the hole in the center is large enough for Lola’s entire body to pass through.  In fact, she has been wandering and climbing through, up, and out of it several times!  I couldn’t get a good photo of it, but rest assured that the space between the perch and the cage bars is perfectly safe.  I highly recommend this perch, but please make sure you size it correctly.  This perch is 100% safe for Lola, but it would definitely not be safe for a larger bird, whose body could easily get caught in the space.  Susan Tuck, the owner of Oliver’s Garden, is very knowledgeable about many species of birds and will definitely help to make sure that you choose the size of your perch properly and safely.

The budgies will be getting their new toys and perches as soon as the new cage arrives… which should be on Monday!!!  Unfortunately, I highly doubt I will be able to put together the cage during the week what with work, so, I probably won’t be setting it up or sharing any photos until next weekend.  But maybe I’ll find energy from within somehow to do it during the week.  Who knows!

On another note, I just wanted to say that I have not forgotten about the Pellet Project; things are just incredibly busy right now.  I did work a bit on Hagen Tropican the other day, though, and I only have a few of its ingredients left, so hopefully I will be able to write a brief summary of Hagen soon enough.  I can’t remember what was supposed to come after Hagen, but I will dig it up from a previous entry.  I haven’t abandoned this project 🙂

Tagged: , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Instant Hits

  • Saemma says:

    Absolutely Beautiful! Your new camera really highlights the Skywalk so well.

  • HungryBird says:

    I’m dying to place an order with Oliver’s Garden! Every time I am forced to control my intense jealousy while reading your blog it brings me one step closer. Unfortunately my wallet keeps me two steps back…

    I really like that Skywalk perch. I definitely want to get some perches with those little beads inside them and I also really like those soapbox perches you got for Charles and Sabrina. They are the perfect size for budgies and I would love watching them hop from one to another like frogs on lily pads.

    I cannot wait to see pictures of the new cage! I hope you find that inner strength.

    And I laughed at this part by the way:

    “rest assured that the space between the perch and the cage bars is perfectly safe”

    As if we were really wondering! If it was purchased by you it must be safe! When there is a debate in my household over whether something is safe for birds or not I immediately try to think about whether or not you’ve mentioned it. I definitely admire the thorough research you do on the safety of toys and the quality of food and cages.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Instant Hits at Coco's Flock.

meta

