Holes in the Ceiling!

October 11, 2011 § Leave a comment

We finally have holes in the ceiling!  Yes, it’s a good thing.  One of my least favorite things is putting holes in the walls and ceiling, but it’s a necessary evil when it comes to designing a great bird room.  Mine is quite very far from great, but at least I have the bare minimum up now: the Crawler and the Atom!  (A huge thanks to my friend Billie Faye, by the way, without whom I would definitely have caused my ceiling to cave in on me and then would be in a lot of trouble with the management.)  Everything is looking pretty grim now until I get more toys and things up there, but I’m happy to at least have these up.  Unfortunately, it seems I actually don’t have all that many studs in my ceiling, so there are really only a few spots from which I can hang things.  I could only find six places for my stainless steel hooks that made sense.  I’ll keep looking, but I’m not too hopeful.

The Crawler

There’s the Crawler, set up right above Lola’s cage.  On one end, it hangs directly from the hooks in the ceiling, but the ceiling is partially vaulted, so on the other end it hangs from ceiling protectors so that it is slightly lower.  So far, the flock isn’t terribly impressed with its location for some reason, but I think I just need to hang some toys from it to attract them.  They absolutely loved the Crawler in our old bird room.

Lola hanging out on her Crawler

Lola did play on it a little last night, but then she flew to me for some cuddles.  Oh well!  Not the worst thing in the world 🙂  I think that once the budgies’ new cage comes, I will attach the budgies’ crawler in between their cage and Lola’s cage, as a bridge between the two.  Their cages will be adjacent to each other and I think they will really enjoy that arrangement!

Lola playing on the Atom

For some reason, everybody was much more attracted to the Atom, which surprised me because it is hanging so much lower than the Crawler.  Maybe it’s because it’s on the opposite side of the room, near my chair?  I’m not really sure what it is, but they all love it and opted to hang out on the Atom yesterday, ignoring the Crawler.  I have to rearrange the toys on the Atom too though… offer some variety and shake things up 🙂

The sixth hole is being saved for a project I’ve been working on forever.  I don’t think I’ll finish it any time soon so I’ll probably put up a different swing in the mean time, but I am definitely very excited about the future project… it’s been a long time in the making!

In other news, Sabrina had a pretty awful night fright the other night and somehow managed to knock out all of the longer flight feathers on her right wing, and now she can’t fly at all.  It’s really upsetting to see.  The feather shafts came out fully, though, and didn’t break, so I think that I am just going to keep her safe and grounded for now until the new flight feathers come back in– hopefully it won’t be too long.  I would hate to clip her, especially because her wings were really butchered when she was a baby and I was so happy to see her regain her flights.  She is a beautiful flier.  She’s a little upset about being kept in cage, but she just plummets when I let her out.

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Holes in the Ceiling! at Coco's Flock.

meta

