Charles and His Kale

September 17, 2011 § 4 Comments

Thank you for all of your kind thoughts about Charles.  He is doing well– or, better.  He’s been eating very healthily at least!  His favorite food of all time is a good, fresh leafy green, and today there was some beautiful, organic kale at one of the local farmers’ markets.  I pushed a lovely, firm leaf between his cage bars and he had such a ball.  He really adores his leafy greens beyond belief!

In other fresh food news, I can’t say I’m thrilled about the recent drop in temperature, but I am happy to see pumpkins and fresh squashes back in the farmers’ markets.  I purchased a beautiful butternut squash today and I will cook it up for me and the birds tonight.  I don’t think any of them have ever had butternut squash yet!  I am sure they will love it, considering that sweet potato is such a huge hit here.  I look forward to trying an array of squashes with them (and of course to making some delicious pumpkin pies for myself!).

In other Charles news, he and Sabrina are still not the best of friends, but she has calmed down a bit, at least.  She no longer thinks I’m an evil demon lady, which is a big plus, and really makes things a lot easier around here.  (She also loves leafy greens, but doesn’t quite go at them with her entire body like Charles does.)

Things are very busy here what with work and the fact that we’re all moving in about a week.  It’s kind of overwhelming to actually be packing up my things and realizing just how much bird stuff I have.  Sobering, to say the least.  And then there’s the fact that I have yet another package of toys and things on the way…  I justify it because of their new cage (which will hopefully be here in October!).  Although there really isn’t any way to justify it at all.  🙂

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Charles and His Kale

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Charles and His Kale at Coco's Flock.

meta

