Comestibles Lately

September 7, 2011 § 8 Comments

A big, healthy, delectable box of goodies from Avian Organics arrived today!  I know I’ve said it only six million times, but I’m going to say it once more: I can’t get enough of Avian Organics.  Their products are so incredibly high quality, and so delicious, and so healthy to boot!!  I never imagined that getting my birds to eat so healthily would be so easy.  Put a bowl of anything from Avian Organics in front of them, and it’s like nothing else in the world matters!  As much as I love their products though, I’d be hard-pressed to say whether their products or their customer service were superior.  Doris, the owner, is so kind and so generous that it’s almost unbelievable.  She bends over backwards to help her customers and to make sure that they are happy!  My parrots couldn’t be happier with their tasty goodies, and I couldn’t be happier with how healthy they are and with the incredible customer service.

Half of my order from Avian Organics

The other half of my order from Avian Organics

I was stocking up on a lot of things, so this was a pretty large order.  I order two packages of slightly custom Pacific Deluxe Parrot Mix, two packages of slightly custom Jungle Trails mix, two packages of Mini Truffles, one package of Cazuela, one package of the new Pura Vida, two packages of the Quick Serve, and one package of the Mayan Gourmet Mash.  Doris very generously threw in a package of Cupid Cookies for me for the birds as well!  (Seriously though, have you tried the Cupid Cookies?  They’re really tasty.)  As always, I am incredibly pleased with everything.  I noticed that the Cazuela seems to have even more variety and extremely vibrant and thick peppers, bursting with flavor!

Originally, I was actually thinking about combining the Pacific Deluxe mix with the Jungle Trails mix, the Mini Truffles, the Cazuela, the Pura Vida, and even some Totally Organics Pellets as a new dry mix for Lola, but since I am no longer feeding her any dry mixes in bowls (she has to forage for all of it now), I think I will keep them separate and use them as necessary to keep them fresh for as long as possible.  Lola is going to be really happy that we finally have more Mini Truffles.  She thinks they are just divine!

Lola munching on an almond

Speaking of Lola, our dear friend Natacha of Just Poifect! asked if I had a recent photo of my big girl and I snapped this one yesterday.  (If you haven’t checked out her blog, do!  Especially if you are a fan of Cape Parrots.  She has a new baby girl named Léa and she is quite precious.)  There she is munching on an almond from one of her foraging toys.  She’s been doing well lately, especially with foraging.  She’s no expert, but we’re working on it.  I’ve been creating several variations on her skewers and figuring out what frustrates her, what she will eventually figure out, what she just plain doesn’t understand, and what is mechanically easier and more challenging for her.  I’m hoping to gradually build her up to more and more difficult skewers as we go on.  I purchased one of those polycarbonate foraging wheels for her a while back, but she ended up not really understanding how it worked at all after several weeks/months, so I have it somewhere in storage.  (Just a note: polycarbonate is not a BPA-free plastic and should not be allowed to touch food directly, in my opinion, especially after being repeatedly used and washed over time.)  Hopefully, as her mechanical skills develop, she will be able to learn how to manipulate the foraging wheel in time!

Lola's breakfast this morning

This has nothing to do with anything mentioned above, but I took a quick photo of Lola’s breakfast this morning and thought I’d share.  I have to be honest, this combination would probably be disgusting to the human palette, but I’ve been reading more about birds’ taste buds and am not sure if Lola can tell that these aren’t complementary tastes at all.  (Apparently, birds have far fewer taste buds than humans do.)  Anyway, it’s a mix of sprouted seeds and legumes (the All-in-One mix by Totally Organics, containing barley, rye berries, spelt, kamut, buckwheat, millet, and pumpkin seeds), along with kale, swiss chard, broccoli, sweet red peppers, yellow squash, carrots, papaya, mangoes, and blueberries.  If Lola didn’t enjoy it, she sure faked it well!

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 8 Responses to Comestibles Lately

  • Meg says:

    I have to agree on the taste bud issue. My parrots definitely have preferences that are taste and not texture related, but they certainly do not always match mine! Claudia loves lots of sauce on her food (while she refuses anything mushes, she is careful not to let me confuse the two) and applesauce is one of her favorite sauces. I like applesauce as much as the next person, and the kind I get, if not homemade, is organic, expensive, and very, very flavorful, but I still would not want it served on most of the things she appreciates it on! I just dump some of that on her food on the days she is not eating and she just goes to town, really does not matter what the base was! Interestingly, she does not like it overly on its own, only as a sauce….. did I mention she was a finicky eater, and quite thin?

  • Natacha says:

    I’m waiting on an AO shipment too! Lea’s been enjoying the mashes, specially the Mango Medley. I’m thinking next week I’ll start introducing her to the mix of cut fresh veggies now that she’s starting to recognize some.

    Oh and I love the picture of Lola 🙂

  • Natacha says:

    I also have a question – how do you serve the Pura Vida? Straight? Mixed with something else?

    • Coco's Flock says:

      I haven’t ever tried it yet, so I’m not quite sure! I’ll probably serve it straight. I’m a bit weary of herb mixes because I don’t think many of them should be free fed, but I did a lot of research into herbs that are okay to free feed over others and Pura Vida is very carefully selected. But I probably won’t mix it with anything cooked or wet so that the flock can pick out what they want/need.

  • HungryBird says:

    Haha I am also waiting on a shipment! I guess great minds think alike and I have a feeling none of us can resist an Avian Organics sale! I haven’t tried the Cupid Cookies yet but I did add a bag of Mini Truffles to my order. I like to combine the various Avian Organics dry mixes from time to time.

    Which wheel is it that you have that is not BPA-free? I’m wondering if the plastic in the Buffet Ball is BPA-free or not.

  • HungryBird says:

    Oh yes and of course I love that meal picture! Stop making me look bad!

    • Coco's Flock says:

      Make you look bad?! You’re my inspiration for food photos!!

      The wheel is the one by Creative Foraging Systems, who also makes the Buffet Ball. All of their items are polycarbonate, which is not BPA-free. I still use their items, I just usually wrap everything in a mini cupcake liner or some other kind of paper because I’m paranoid…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Comestibles Lately at Coco's Flock.

meta

