Today’s Breakfast and More on Sprouting

August 24, 2011 § 1 Comment

I finally tracked down a second bioSnacky glass sprouting jar!  After endless searching for a U.S. vendor to no avail, I contacted several Canadian vendors.  The lovely and very helpful people at Nature’s Fare were nice enough to special order it for me.  The best part is, they had a shipping special and only charged me $5 for shipping from Canada!  I am very pleased with my purchase.  I thought I’d probably end up spending more on shipping than on the actual jar itself, but the total cost was quite reasonable.  For any U.S. residents looking for one, I strongly recommended emailing them.  They were very professional and also very quick!

I’ve been experimenting with a new sprouting mix lately as well.  I am loving the “Amber Waves of Grain” mix from Sprout People.  It’s a really clean and varied mix with super high sprout-ability for me, containing wheat, rye, barley, triticale, oats, spelt, kamut, quinoa, sesame, millet, and amaranth.  I have to say; somehow their millet is really, really beautiful.  It seems to be nicer and more plump than the millet I’ve seen in other mixes, at the health food store, etc.  The budgies in particular are loving it!  I’ve been mixing the “Amber Waves of Grain” mix with a little bit of the “Oats and Groats” mix, which has hulless oats and buckwheat groats, because all of mine love buckwheat so much.  It’s a big hit!  I am thinking of actually making this my base sprouting mix from now on.

Lola's Breakfast: a Papaya and Raspberry Salad

For breakfast today, Lola had the mix, soaked (hadn’t quite gotten to the sprouting stage, although it’s still going), as part of a beautiful papaya and raspberry salad.  I was too lazy to make a more varied mash this morning, so I went with something more simple instead.  It’s a huge hit!  She always loves her papaya.  I like to give it to her in larger chunks because she loves to sink her beak into it and really chew it up.  She is also enjoying the crunchy fresh kale and chard.  She’ll never finish the whole bowl, but I was a little overzealous since the papaya looked so nice.

Unfortunately, my barley grass didn’t survive.  I forgot to water it one day and the poor grass yellowed and even grew moldy.  I suppose I will have to try again!  Poor Charles misses his fresh grass right now.  Maybe I’ll just stick to wheat grass until I perfect my technique.

I also wanted to give a huge thanks to everybody for your advice and support about Sabrina.  The response was overwhelming and supportive via comments, messages, and emails, and I really appreciate it.  From what I gather, it seems that her behavior is relatively typical of female budgies and Charles and I are just wusses.  I am going to try offering some chamomile tea or chamomile flowers, though, to see if perhaps they might have a calming effect on her feisty personality.  I have some of the new Pura Vida mix from Avian Organics on order, so perhaps she will enjoy that.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Today’s Breakfast and More on Sprouting

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Today’s Breakfast and More on Sprouting at Coco's Flock.

meta

