New, Fun Sprouts and Grasses

August 12, 2011 § 8 Comments

I recently placed my first order with Sprout People, a really neat sprouting site with a HUGE selection of seeds, grasses, and sprouting accessories!  I just loved their selection and read a few positive reviews from some friends, so I decided to give it a go.  I like that they offer many different quantities of items as well as sampler packs.  I really didn’t want pounds and pounds of sprouting seeds, but I did want a good variety, so the sampler packs allowed me to try a bunch of different things without taking over my cupboard space.  I stuck mostly with things I know my guys like for now, but I also bought a few cool goodies that I am very excited to try.

My first order from Sprout People

I ordered two of the grain sprout samplers, which come with buckwheat and hulless oats, kamut, quinoa, wheat, and a mix called amber waves of grain, containing eleven different types of grains.  I purchased one pound of almonds to sprout for Lola, which I am sure she will love and adore.  I also ordered a “Lil’ Critter Grass Kit” which comes with everything I need to create three small trays of wheat grass, perfectly sized to fit inside the budgie cages!  The growing medium is already cut to size, so it’s perfect for lazy ones like me who don’t want to deal with the mess of soil.  I’ve never used a growing medium before, so I will admit that I’m a bit skeptical, but I’ll put it to the test.  Finally, I also decided to try the grass sampler, which comes with wheat grass, barley grass, rye grass, oat grass, and Kat Grass, or a mixture containing wheat, oats, rye, barley, and flax.  I’m so excited to try these different types of grasses!  I already have my first little tray of barley grass going…

Very young barley grass

I’m really excited to see how the budgies like it.  They are completely obsessed with wheat grass, so hopefully the barley will be a hit, although I’ve read that it’s not nearly as sweet or as palatable as wheat grass is to humans.  They tend to devour anything that’s leafy and green, though, so I’m not too worried.  I also love that it is so healthy for them, and that grasses are a huge part of their natural diet in the wild.  I’m moving towards feeding more and more fresh food and sprouts especially with my flock with the more research I do.  Eventually, I’d like to purchase a dehydrator so that even their dried foods will be processed as little as possible.

On a somewhat related note, both of the two Easy Sprouters that I have left both developed some nasty bacteria and discoloration this week and I had to toss them.  I considered scrubbing and disinfecting them thoroughly but I know it’ll just be back at some length of time.  I’m a little bit disappointed, and I only have my one glass bioSnacky left right now.  I’m relentlessly hunting down another but they are tough to come by.  I might just get a few regular glass jars in the mean time, if nothing comes up soon.  I might purchase another Easy Sprouter or two, but I’m considering just sticking with glass from now on.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 8 Responses to New, Fun Sprouts and Grasses

  • Anita says:

    I’ve been meaning to sprout a small carpet of grass for the birds, forever! Enjoyed the post 🙂

  • Wazeau says:

    I love sproutpeople.org. I have a freezer full of bags of seeds and beans. I must admit though I eat as much of it as my birds and cats do. I keep two trays of cat grass growing for the little beasts, and the birds get a variety of seed and bean sprouts. And I get yummy sprouts for my salads! I haven’t had a problem yet with my Easy Sprouters and I keep three of them going at all times. I run them through my dishwasher after each cycle, and usually hot soap and water the outer containers when I do the twice-daily showering of the contents of the inner one. Maybe its a climate thing.

    • Coco's Flock says:

      Ah, I’m not quite at the point where I’m eating the sprouts myself… I do enjoy some sprouts in a good sandwich, but, for now the birds will enjoy the home made sprouts!! 🙂

  • Irina says:

    that barley grass looks lovely already! Lucky birdies
    Biosnacky jars are available in the UK so you could get one through the UK ebay with worldwide shipping like this one (though it might work out a bit too pricey)
    http://cgi.ebay.com/A-Vogel-Biosnacky-Germinator-Sprouting-Jar-Seeds-/290540353864?pt=UK_Home_Garden_Food_SM&hash=item43a58df948#shId

    • Coco's Flock says:

      Thanks Irina! I finally found a vendor who was willing to special order it for me. Glad to have tracked one down!

      • HungryBird says:

        I assume we can expect a post that shows three or four beautiful bioSnackys in a row?

        I saw those big white sprouters you mentioned but at $17 or $18 for a cheap little plastic container that looked like something I could pick up at Popeyes I decided to pass. I’m not surprised you became unhappy with yours.

        Have you seen these mesh lids from Sprout People? I was considering getting some.

        http://sproutpeople.org/supply/sprouters/lidset.html

      • Coco's Flock says:

        Saemma also hunted one down for me 🙂 So I’ll have a nice colleciton of 3!!

        I saw the mesh lids as well but I love that the bioSnacky comes with a side stand. I set it up next to my sink!

  • Irina says:

    Coco, your review of Biosnacky jar was so good that I had to order one myself so really looking forward to receiving it now 🙂 ( I already have a plastic three-tier biosnacky sprouter but your arguments about biosnacky jar being glass were the last drop in me wanting it).

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading New, Fun Sprouts and Grasses at Coco's Flock.

meta

