Budgie Cage Update

August 6, 2011 § 11 Comments

Much to my chagrin, Charles and Sabrina are determined not to get along.  They tolerate each other for short periods of time, but they simply cannot be in the same cage anymore.  I am still not sure if this is due to a lack of space or if they truly just do not like each other, but it’s a little disheartening, especially since I have a beautiful new cage for them in the works.  Originally it was going to be 36″ wide by 20″ deep, as I thought this would be a nice size flight-style cage for the two of them to share.  But now that they aren’t getting along, I am thinking of putting a divider in the middle, meaning that each of them will only get 18″ x 20″ of space… very much on the small side in my opinion.  I’m not sure what to do.  Any opinions?  Do you think this is too small?  My real hope is that once the big cage comes, it’ll be enough space that they will leave each other alone and I won’t have to use the divider, but I’m not sure.  I’m thinking of increasing the depth from 20″ to 24″ but space is very limited here, and I’m not sure if that will really work.

Not much else is going on otherwise– August is a busy, busy month here, and it looks like September will be even busier!

Tagged: , ,

§ 11 Responses to Budgie Cage Update

  • Danita says:

    Coco
    I am just browsing your blog, how cute!
    Danita

  • HungryBird says:

    Is this a custom made cage you are getting? Is there any way you can sneak a divider in?

    I think they should be fine once they have bit more space.

    I know people say it is more important to give them a wide cage than a tall cage so you could consider dividing the cage into a top section and a bottom section instead of two vertical sections right next to each other. I would not really want that for a long period of time because I feel it’s not fair to the one on the bottom because their cage is so much darker.

    • Coco's Flock says:

      Yes, that’s exactly what I plan on doing. It’s 36″ wide by 20″ deep right now, but if I put a divider in then they will each only get 18″ by 20″ and I feel that it is a bit small 😦 I think I might just go for the 36″ x 24″ so that they each have 18″ x 24″ to themselves.

      I agree… I’m not a fan of cages stacked on top of each other, especially for two birds that really don’t like each other. I would feel really bad for Charles that he could hear Sabrina all the time but never see her, since he is a bit afraid of her.

  • Meg says:

    I think 18 by 20 can work fine (considering that the largest cages available are smaller than that, relative to size, for even medium sized parrots) but it will be a bit cramped. I have 20 by 20 travel cages (for extended stays) and they work very well, but a bit bigger is appreciated.

    I thought you were planning on waiting until you moved to get a custom cage, or on getting an A&E SS until then. Why did you change your mind?

    • Coco's Flock says:

      I’m actually moving in about a month, and then again in about a year, and I don’t know how soon again after that, but basically, my life is going to be pretty up in the air for the next few years, so I figured might as well get the cage now rather than keep making up excuses! 🙂

      • Meg says:

        Well that certainly makes sense! The small cage size should be ok, but be forewarned setting up tall-ish, thinn-ish cages is quite an artform! That, or just get easily washable items for the lower level!

      • Coco's Flock says:

        Thanks Meg 🙂 Great advice!!

        How have you been?? I miss your blog updates!

  • HungryBird says:

    When they are both out and about and are given the entire room to fly around do you notice any problems? What about putting Charles in the new cage and keeping Sabrina in the one you have them in currently as a temporary solution? You may find that they are unhappy being separated. I know Charles and Theodore had a perfectly loving relationship but maybe the relationship between Charles and Sabrina is a bit…spicier shall we say?

    Romeo and Juliet are very bonded and cannot stand to be separated but sometimes you would never know by the way they act. Romeo is a jerk sometimes and often will not allow Juliet on his (her) perch. Even though there are a million other perches to choose from Juliet will only want to sit on the one Romeo is sitting on. Hovering, screeching, and a lot of ruckus accompanies these disagreements over personal space. They share their food and water without any issue but a few years ago they had some problems with sharing food. Romeo was a huge jerk and would fly from one food bowl to the other in an attempt to prevent Juliet from getting any food. I just added a few more food bowls and he quickly realized he couldn’t guard them all at once and stopped being a jerk about it.

    And you know how amazingly stubborn they can be! I’ve had Romeo and Juliet for somewhere around four years now and they took a voluntary bath for the first time ever a week or two ago. I’ve been trying to convince them water is fun for years.

    Also, it sounds like Sabrina is suffering from Romeo Syndrome, which is basically being a big bully and a jerk. I hope Charles is standing up for himself but I know sometimes male animals don’t stand up to female animals as much as they do to males. My dog tolerates much more “abuse” from female dogs than he does from males. Much, much more. When I thought Romeo was a boy and Juliet was a girl I was unsure as to why the male was running everything but once I realized my stupid mistake it all made sense.

    Longest comment I’ve ever written.

    • Coco's Flock says:

      Sabrina IS suffering from Romeo Syndrome. She is so nasty to poor Charles. He’s so laid back and calm and I think he is just terrified of her now. They used to be okay when they were out of their cages but now it’s escalated and Sabrina chases him around the entire room and he’s flying around and panting and exhausted. He actually puts himself back in his cage sometimes 😦

      I definitely won’t have space for both the new cage + Charles’s old cage… The idea was to get the new BIG one and get rid of the two smaller ones they’re currently in. I guess I’m still figuring it out though.

  • HungryBird says:

    Oh no it sounds like she is being a real brat. Can you prevent her from chasing him around? When Romeo is being a jerk, which still happens often enough to write about, I call out to him using his name and tell him to stop. He knows exactly what I mean but doesn’t always listen. If he ignores me when I call him I will stand up and then he stops instantly because he knows the next step is having me come over there and move him.

    I would definitely let Charles have his own out-of-cage time where he doesn’t need to worry about Sabrina because she is in her cage. She may think it is unfair but that’s too bad. Squeaky and Iggy are allowed out with Romeo and Juliet under heavy supervision but Malachite is not allowed out at all when Romeo and Juliet are out. He has already proven that he is not to be trusted around them.

    Charles was there first and Sabrina needs to get used to the house rules. Until she does she will have to live under more restrictions than Charles. When I have dogs staying over they are required to adhere to my strict house rules and only after they have proven that they both understand and are willing to obey (two entirely different things!) are they allowed to do as they please. My dog has appointed himself as an officer of the house law and he goes around making sure they follow the rules. It’s kind of cute. If they try to stick their noses in the trash he growls and lets me know. If I’m telling them to sit he comes right over and sits to show them that they are stupid and he is a genius.

    I do think a certain amount of bickering may be unavoidable though. Squeaky and Iggy get along well but occasionally they do have epic battles over who can sit on Iggy’s favorite perches. None of these battles have ever resulted in any type of serious fight or even a minor scratch. If Sabrina is actually hurting Charles I would separate them immediately. Poor Charles seems so mild mannered and Sabrina is definitely Romeo 2.0.

  • Saemma says:

    Eeek!! So sorry to hear about Sab and Charles.:( If you’re able to increase the depth I think it will work out pretty well. Those budgies sure keep you on your toes:)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Budgie Cage Update at Coco's Flock.

meta

