The bioSnacky Glass Sprouting Jar

July 24, 2011 § 1 Comment

One of my dear friends over on Avian Avenue sent me the most incredible package this past week and I’ve subsequently gained fifty pounds.  Everything in it is so delectable!!  She put together a beautiful bundle of hand-picked treats from her city that she felt would represent “slices of Montreal,” but she also chose items that she specifically remembered I’d mentioned I liked, like salted caramels, strawberry jam, and anything chocolate!  I am so impressed by her generosity and her great taste!!  I adore everything and the maple lollies are almost too cute to eat, but I am simply blown away by these delicious puff pastry pretzels.  They’re just delicious– the perfect flaky texture with just a hint of sweetness.  Very dangerous!

"Slices of Montreal"

I loved getting something in the mail that, for once, wasn’t for the birds but rather for me! 🙂  But of course, it included a little something for the birds as well.  She was nice enough to send along a lovely bioSnacky glass sprouting jar as well, a sprouter I had read about online but was unable to find here in the U.S.  It’s a glass jar that is used for sprouting but it comes with this great mesh top for drainage but it also has a little stand on the side so that you can keep it upside down but at an angle!

The bioSnacky Sprouting Jar with some quinoa, radish, and lentil sprouts

I put it to the test with a lovely accompanying packet of quinoa, radish, and lentil seeds to sprout.  I was very happy to see that they started sprouting almost immediately after their soak!  They were ready to serve in record time, and the budgies in particular loved them.  I’m not sure if it’s the sprouter or the seeds but I’m very pleased with both.  The sprouter has such a simple design, but I like it– a lot more than I thought I would.  It’s extremely easy to use, there aren’t a bunch of parts to keep track of, and best of all, the main chamber is glass!  I’m a total plastic-phobe so that in and of itself was enough to attract me.  I find it far easier to clean and sanitize.  I love it so much that I already want a second!

the Easy Sprout Sprouter

Up until now, my sprouter of choice has been the Easy Sprout Sprouter, made by Sproutamo.  It consists of two plastic chambers– the smaller and slightly shorter one fits inside of the other and allows the sprouts to be just slightly suspended over the bottom of the chamber for optimal humidity.  It’s far easier to find in the U.S. than the bioSnacky sprouting jar, plus it works well.  (I can’t be bothered with cheese cloths or anything more complicated.)  But I’m not crazy about the design or the fact that it is plastic.  I find that it’s necessary to be extremely diligent about washing and disinfecting it– although I wash mine thoroughly each and every time I use it, I noticed that there were little pockets of bacteria and other things beginning to grow in it, especially around the rim of the inner chamber as well as the bottom drainage area of the inner chamber.  Disinfection is necessary with a plastic sprouter, at least in my experience.  I’ve actually tossed one of mine because of the bacteria issue.

the bioSnacky and the Easy Sprout put to the test

I do love my new bioSnacky sprouting jar, but I am going to put it to the test and see how my two sprouters compare under the same conditions.  Today I started a new batch in both of them of Totally Organics All in One seeds– same bag, same water, same time, same everything.  I will be taking photos of the two along the way.  We’ll see how they both fare!

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ One Response to The bioSnacky Glass Sprouting Jar

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The bioSnacky Glass Sprouting Jar at Coco's Flock.

meta

