My First Taste of Cape Parrot Biting and Aggression

June 8, 2011 § 10 Comments

Or perhaps I should say Lola’s first taste?  Well, regardless, my sweet little Lola bit me for the first time yesterday!  As I’m sure you can imagine… that big beak of hers can do some damage.  She didn’t actually draw blood but bruised my finger pretty badly and I lost feeling in it for a few hours.

Lola has always loved my S.O.  We are long distance, though, so he isn’t here all the time, and hadn’t been around for about two months until he visited this weekend.  Usually, when he’s around, she just goes nuts for him.  She will fly over to him or step up for him over me, beg for scratches, and even regurgitate and spread her wings in that way for him on occasion.

Well, this weekend, things changed.  Suddenly, she hates him and wants nothing to do with him.  She was on my arm yesterday when he walked towards us and she bit my finger quite vigorously, in what I assume was an attempt to get me to get away from the “predator.”

Although I was quite surprised, as she has been so sweet thus far and is still quite young, I’m also somewhat relieved to know that she is indeed a normal parrot.  The S.O. is gone already but for the remainder of his stay, I had him try to curry favor with her– giving her almond slivers or sunflower seeds whenever he walked by the cage, spending quality time with her without me in the room or even at home, etc.  She seemed to be more receptive last night and this morning, or at least not aggressive– she kept her distance rather than lunged.

We are traveling soon to visit my family, whom Lola hasn’t seen for several months now.  She used to adore one of my sisters as well, so I am very interested in seeing how she reacts to her after this incident.  I am observing her behavior around strangers and others very carefully and will be sure to diarize all incidents of aggression in the future.

In the mean time, I’ve been working on creating other things for her to chomp:

A spool of thin paper cord and some home made foot toys!

I received a massive spool of thin paper cord from Things for Wings this week and got straight to work.  The rope is killing my hands after a few hundred foot toys.  What’s photographed is only about half.  I also made an equal amount of colored ones now that I can be home more often to keep an eye on Lola’s water, but most of those are already gone.  It doesn’t even look like I made a dent in the spool though!  I sense that my fingers will be very sore and tender before I finish this one…

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 10 Responses to My First Taste of Cape Parrot Biting and Aggression

  • Saemma says:

    How’s your poor index finger today? I recently found a source and purchased 2 HUGE rolls of Paper Rope *249feet* for wonderful prices too. I think I will have to pace myself when it comes to foot toy making. It sure makes my fingers feel tender. Give Lola a great scritch please.

    • Coco's Flock says:

      Thanks Saemma– finger’s better 🙂 Functional, at least. I do love the paper rope but honestly I am not sure I will be purchasing it in such large quantities anymore. (That said I did see spools of 1000 ft for $11 if I am not mistaken!) Poly rope is much more forgiving!!!

  • Saemma says:

    Lol! I’ve learned to pace myself..

    No need to use it all up so quickly! WHOA!! 1000 feet for 11$? That will last you and Lola a LONG LONG time. Think Long term!! LOL!!

  • Meg says:

    Ouch, your finger! Have you talked anymore to the woman nearby with the tiel? Having anyone else come in can help prevent over-bonding with you, even if all they do i talk and dispense treats!

    And where did you find the paper rope for that price?????

    • Coco's Flock says:

      I’m very weary of inviting people into my home… I do have a few friends that come by though and interact with her. When I have to be away for the weekend or on short trips, I have a friend come by to change Lola’s food and water and let her out, and Lola is totally sweet to her (not territorial at all, never bites!).

      I actually just googled something like “Kraft paper rope” or some variation of that. There are GREAT prices from paper stores!

  • Saemma says:

    I’ve made only 3 simple foot toys and I already feel the paper rope burn in my fingers. Thank YOU so much for those wonderful foot toys. You have my full foottoy making admiration!!

    • Coco's Flock says:

      It burns deeply, doesn’t it?! When I made all of your foot toys, for some reason, I didn’t feel it at all. Then I went ahead and bought BULK paper rope and felt it right away!! I was fooled at the start!!

  • lara rendon says:

    hi i have a parrot and her name is missy.well i bougt her from a lady that i know.me and my family just moved and when we were about to get her she bite my finger,its been a little over a week ago and i have NO feeling in my finger,it bothers me i think i will never have feeling in it again! do u know of anyone that this has happened to and did they get feeling back where they were bite?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My First Taste of Cape Parrot Biting and Aggression at Coco's Flock.

meta

