Using Water Bottles?

June 5, 2011 § 5 Comments

I would love if you could respond whether or not you use water bottles with your birds rather than water bowls.  I am considering water bottle training Lola because she takes serious delight in making a mess of her water bowls.  Usually I am home often enough to keep them clean, but for those days that I am not, I just want to be sure that she always had access to clean water.  So what do you guys do?  Feel free to answer the poll and leave your comments.  I would very much appreciate it!

I’d also love to know what brand of water bottle you use, if you use water bottles.  I get the feeling that Lixit is the most common, but the only one they make that comes with 100% stainless steel hardware is the huge 32 oz one, which I think would be overkill for Lola.  Or perhaps somebody has figured out a way to connect them to the cage without having to use the springs or attachments that come with the bottles?  Please share if so!  Thanks in advance!

Tagged: , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Using Water Bottles?

  • Ming-Ming says:

    I use both waterbottles and bowls. They both drink from the waterbottles, and I leave the bowls in because they like to dunk their food and sometimes bathe in it 🙂

    As for tying it on. I only have the spring thing for one cage, the other I just used a piece of leather cord to make a bracket.

    I think water bottles are totally worth it if you need to offer fresh water throughout the day and you’re not home.

  • Nicolette says:

    I use a Lixit waterbottle for my macaw and a Superpet for my budgie. I’m not sure what spring you are talking about but mine just comes with brackets and there is actually 16oz with the brackets like my macaws.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Using Water Bottles? at Coco's Flock.

meta

