Paper Rope Toys

May 24, 2011 § 2 Comments

I have recently been raving about how much I love using slim natural paper cord for toy making.  I had gotten a small sample of it in one of my recent orders and made a few foot toys, and I loved it– natural, safe, no threads, so easy on the hands to use, etc.  But I take that last part back!!  I had a toy making session using exclusively my slim paper cord, and my hands were absolutely aching by the end of it!  I had one hundred feet to use and thought it would go quickly… was I ever wrong.  The hundred feet of rope made me exactly three toys, and I honestly thought my fingers were going to fall off afterward.

One DIY toy for Lola using slim paper cord

The toys I made with it, as per usual, aren’t pretty, but they’ll keep little Lola busy.  There are two cool things about the rope: first, it bends in crazy ways rather than just hanging downward, so the toys turn out extra voluminous!  Second, at the end, rather than simply cutting it loose, you can unwind the paper cord and fan it out, so that it becomes a shreddable toy as well.  I’d imagine it’d also help to keep those mechanical parrots from untying all of their toys.

A second simple DIY toy using slim paper cord

This rope really is excellent– completely safe, no threads, super sturdy yet shreddable when unwound– I don’t think it gets much better.  The thin cord fits through even small, 5/8″ beads!  But at least now I know better.  I can’t make more than one toy at a time using it, lest I should lose functioning in my fingers.  I’ll have to keep that in mind, as I have an entire spool on its way here…

Oh, and on an unrelated note, Lola pooped on me for the first time today.  She was on my shoulder and I was standing up, and it dripped down my entire ensemble.  I was wearing silk and cashmere.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Paper Rope Toys

  • Natacha says:

    You just learned one of the firs lesson in parrot ownership, never where silk and cashmere or anything really nice and valuable around parrots 😀

    I have dedicated clothing for when I have them out. Because on top of the occasional poop, they sometimes like to chew my shirt..

    And that toy looks awesome!

    • Coco's Flock says:

      Boy did I feel like an amateur today! I usually change right when I get home from work… but lately I have been especially lazy, and since she is usually so good, I didn’t bother. She must have REALLY had to go…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Paper Rope Toys at Coco's Flock.

meta

