Cleaning the Rest of My Home

May 17, 2011 § 5 Comments

Here’s another question I get very, very often, and since I recently wrote an entry about my cleaning protocol for my bird items, I figured I’d address how I clean the rest of my home as well.  I’m a big believer in keeping a chemical-free home.  Not just because of the birds… in fact, this is something I’ve always believed in, but having birds and knowing about their sensitive respiratory tracts and the importance of clean air to them just reinforces my decision to keep my home chemical-free.  That said I am also a neurotic neat freak and germophobe, so when I first made this decision, I was a little bit nervous that “all natural” cleaning products couldn’t possibly be as effective as chemical ones that killed anything and everything within a hundred foot radius.  But I made the switch anyway, and couldn’t be happier.  I actually think my home is far cleaner now without the lingering smell of harsh chemicals… in the bathroom especially!  I no longer feel the need to wear rubber gloves for fear that any harsh cleaning product will dry out my skin, nor do I have to hold my breath when I scrub. And it’s not just me– I very frequently get comments from my guests about how remarkably clean and fresh my place seems.

Seventh Generation cleaning products for the bathroom

I have tried a few brands, but so far my favorite by far is Seventh Generation.  I really like that their products are 100% all natural and non-toxic, and they specify that they are not only safe for the environment, but also safe for families, children, and pets.  What’s more?  They work!  Pictured above are some of the products I use to clean my bathrooms.  It’s what you’d expect: a glass cleaner, tub and tile cleaner, toilet bowl cleaner, and a disinfecting bathroom cleaner.  Although I always prefer unscented products, it seems like they are actually pretty difficult to come by in terms of bathroom cleaning products, even among all natural brands.  I guess they assume most people want to cover up scents in the bathroom.  After many different offensively scented other brand products, I’ve found that Seventh Generation’s tend to be the lightest and although they neutralize any existing odors, their scents don’t last very long, which is what I want.  I also use disinfecting wipes, which are a BIG staple here, and I keep a canister in every bathroom and the kitchen as well.

More Seventh Generation cleaning products

Here are a few more that you’ll find around my home.  I use the Seventh Generation laundry detergent and their dryer sheets (not pictured), both of which are unscented.  Lola loves climbing all over me and hanging about from my clothes, and much to my dismay, chewing them.  I’d never feel comfortable letting her do that with clothes washed in standard, petroleum-based laundry detergents or normal dryer sheets (which contain many carcinogens).  I also use a Seventh Generation all purpose cleaner, as well as their Dish Liquid.  Again, I do not use petroleum-based dish liquids, neither for the birds’ bowls nor my own dishes.  And yes, it absolutely does cut through grease and gets my dishes squeaky clean!

Dr. Bronner's Magic All-in-One Soap

Here’s a non-Seventh Generation product I love: Dr. Bronner’s Magic All-in-One Soap!  These amazing soaps are not only made with organic oils, but they’re also fair trade.  I use the Baby Mild one, which is unscented.  It is incredibly versatile and can be used for just about everything, but I usually use it for all purpose cleaning (including dish washing!) and as a body wash as well.  It lathers up REALLY well and leaves no scent at all whatsoever, which is important to me for any body wash, since I handle my birds a lot of course.  Yes, all the rest of my personal products are also all natural and organic as well.

I’m missing a few products here, but hopefully you get the gist of it: chemical-free is the way to go!  It’s so much safer, for you, for the birds, and for the environment too.  Some of these products might seem more expensive, but the great thing about all of them is that a little truly goes a long way.  I feel very much that I am getting great value from these products, all things considered.

Tagged: , ,

§ 5 Responses to Cleaning the Rest of My Home

  • HungryBird says:

    Haha that’s really funny since I just bought a huge bottle of Dr, Bronner’s! I like the peppermint soap. You really can use it for anything and it is biodegradable and great for camping trips.

  • Meg says:

    I think many of the scents in the all natural soaps are just the smell of the natural cleaners and enzymes in them. For instance, I have an unscented coconut enzyme cleaner that has a strong odor, but absolutely no fragrance or anything else. I haven’t looked at a seventh generation bottle in a while, but I grew up with the brand, and never remember them containing any fragrance, although they did often have a fragrance-like smell from their ingredients. You really have to watch with “unscented” products, actually, since they almost always contain chemicals or special “scents” to cover up the smell of the actual active ingredients!

    And Coco, I LOVE seeing anyone else that doesn’t use fragrances!! I could actually be around you, your birds, and things that came from your apartment- and today’s world or everlasting and ever present fragrances, that is soooo rare!

    • Coco's Flock says:

      Yes… you’re right 🙂 I did a little bit of label investigating and it seems like all of the “scented” bathroom products are simply the natural cleaners or oils used in the formula. The Seventh Generation Free & Clear (unscented) products, though, also have safe ingredient lists, I’m happy to report! No chemicals masking any scents.

      I would LOVE to hear what you use as well!! Always looking for new products to check out!

  • Ming-Ming says:

    I’m going to look into that Seventh Generation stuff.
    I went onto their website… they make tampons too! LOL.
    Although I’m not a huge fan of the cardboard applicators… TMI? haha

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cleaning the Rest of My Home at Coco's Flock.

meta

