More Sprouting Supplies and Others

May 5, 2011 § 7 Comments

I absolutely love ordering from Kathie at My Safe Bird Store.  I usually place a small “nuts and bolts” (staples, like food and supplies) order with her every so often, and I am always so pleased with the amazing packaging, care, and lightning fast shipping!  On top of that, she has unbeatable, low prices and a great variety of items, and is even willing to special order anything you don’t see on her site (more on that below).

My beautifully packaged order from My Safe Bird Store

Here is what my order looked like out of the box.  Kathie carefully wraps every single item: the smaller ones in tissue paper and then a plastic bag, tied with a bow at the top, and larger boxed or already wrapped items with just the plastic.  Then she tops it all off with some lovely, bright, and often seasonal tissue paper.  I love the care that she puts into this because it ensures that none of my items will be cross-contaminated with anything else that might be mingling among the other boxes during shipping, especially other boxes with items that could leak.  I love getting packages as is, but opening up Kathie’s packages is like opening up a beautifully wrapped gift!  She also always includes a special something, and this time it was an adorable crafted sign for the home (in the little yellow gift bag).

This “nuts and bolts” order consisted of some of my flock’s staple items and some new items as well.  Wrapped in green on the right are three packages of Totally Organics All-in-One Seed Mix, my super high quality sprouting mix of choice.  I also ordered a second Easy Sprout because I love my first sprouter so much that I decided to try a second so that I can have two batches going at once!  I did at one point have a second but it must have gotten lost in transit when I moved this summer.  Next to the Easy Sprout are two bottles of Mango Poop Swoop Wipes, which make cleaning such a breeze.  I get so many questions about how I keep my carpets and especially my natural white cotton atoms and crawlers so clean, and my secret is this stuff!  They’re super convenient wipes with bird-safe cleaners that just melt droppings away.  It’s very similar to Poop Off, but in my opinion smells far better.

Lola on her new bamboo pedicure perches

This time, I was also looking for some cool bamboo pedicure perches in particular that HungryBird posted about, and Kathie was nice enough to special order them for me!  I have a really hard time finding pedicure perches, especially because of my stainless steel hardware-only rule.  So far, I haven’t found a single company that makes pedicure perches with stainless steel hardware.  I also strongly prefer pedicure perches that are smooth on the top, and only rough or sandy on the sides, so that they do not irritate the feet.  The only one that met my requirements that I could find was the Safety Pumice Perch by Sweet Feet and Beak, because it used plastic cage attachments rather than metal hardware, and had the sandy parts only on the sides.  I’ve been using those with Lola and they do work very well, but I have to be honest– they stick out like a sore thumb in her cage because they only come in bright sea green, bright strawberry pink, purple or blue, and … well, let’s just say they look like a type of toy, but not a bird toy, if you know what I mean.  (If you saw a picture of one, you’d get it.)

This is why I was so pleased to see HungryBird’s photos of these bamboo ones (by the same company actually)– they have smooth tops with sand on the sides only for comfort, and they also use plastic cage attachments!  (I should mention though that inside the plastic attachment there are two non-stainless screws that are completely inaccessible unless, of course, your bird chews through the perch.  I would replace them if you have a big chewer.)  But best of all, they look far more natural as they are actually made of bamboo rather than brightly colored plastic.  I emailed Kathie about special ordering them and as she always does, she got them in promptly and sent them straight to me.  She also told me, unfortunately, that the company is discontinuing them, so I suppose that I’ll have to make these two last.

I am really pleased with these perches.  Strangely, Lola was terrified of them at first.  She has never, ever been afraid of a perch, except for the pumice / pedicure ones I’ve purchased.  It’s very unusual.  Many, many treats later, I got her to perch on them for the above photos, and with lots of praise and walnut pieces, she is now totally comfortable on them.  Thanks so much Kathie!  We love My Safe Bird Store!

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ 7 Responses to More Sprouting Supplies and Others

  • juhi says:

    Bwahahaha I actually Laughed Out Loud on your views on the saftey pumice perch, because i know exactly what you mean and i feel the same about them!! LMBO
    i really like these bamboo perches, i’ll have to Kathie if she can get them for me me. will also add Mango poop swoop to my order.
    Thnx 🙂

  • Ming-Ming says:

    Oh i like those bamboo ones too!
    I think I’m going to have to find some before they run out!

  • Meg says:

    Seriously? They are discontinuing them? See, I am always so slow getting things, I have looked at those for years and was going to get some when I needed new ones! I might have to stick with he bubblegum variety… Although Claudia is so in love with her teal one that I really shouldn’t complain.

    • Coco's Flock says:

      Juhi, I’m so glad I’m not the only one!! 🙂

      Ming and Meg, yes, they’re definitely worth a try — I am really happy with them. The bamboo is actually surprisingly hard and durable too! I wonder why they are discontinuing them.

  • HungryBird says:

    Haha I know exactly what type of toy you mean! I couldn’t bear to buy those for that exact reason!

    I’m so happy with my bamboo perch but am devastated to hear that they will be discontinuing them. Malachite loves his and has already worn almost all the pumice off. I will have to stock up…

    I love it when vendors get in products by request. It’s one of the nicest things about ordering from the smaller, more personal stores.

    Malachite was not scared of his but I am planning on getting some more and I will see if the others are as brave.

  • […] you are all avid followers of Coco’s Flock and you already saw this post but in case you didn’t here it is. She recently got some of those wonderful pumice covered […]

  • […] it’s actually a pedicure perch!  I’ve written before about my troubles with finding pedicure perches that didn’t look like brightly colored non-parrot toys, to put it lightly, and then of course […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading More Sprouting Supplies and Others at Coco's Flock.

meta

