A Gift from Totally Organics!

April 26, 2011 § 13 Comments

I came home to an unidentified package, yesterday, and was VERY pleased upon opening it!  Gudrun, the owner of Totally Organics, was nice enough to send me a free sample of their new, smaller-size pellet, the Crumplet! And it wasn’t just a few ounces… it was this massive bag, along with a pound of the Totally Organics Napoleon’s Seed Mix, because she knows that my little guys just love it!  Thank you so much, Gudrun!!

My lovely gift from Totally Organics!

As some of you might know, I believe that Totally Organics makes the best pellet on the market.  You won’t find any artificial colors or flavors, any preservatives, any synthetic vitamins, or even any corn or soy in these high quality pellets.  They are 100% organic, and their healthy combination of vitamins and minerals comes from natural sources– alfalfa for natural Vitamin K rather than menadione, or carrot powder for beta carotene rather than synthetic Vitamin A.  Even Charles, my budgie, loved and used to be able to eat these excellent quality pellets in the normal size, because they are nice and crumbly.  You see, TOPs doesn’t cook or bake their pellets, but rather cold presses them, so that there is minimal nutrient loss in the process.  When he had his beak accident, however, he was no longer able to chew them because they are too big for the poor guy.  That is why I was so excited for these little Crumplets — they are the perfect size for him!

The normal size TOPs next to the Crumplets for a size comparison

According to their labels, the two of them share the same formula and excellent ingredients list.  There were, however, a few visual differences.  First is, obviously, size — the Crumplets are much easier to manage for the little ones, and much less likely to be picked up and dropped all over the cage, resulting in a lot of waste.  The little ones, at least in this package, also seemed to be more green in color.  The difference isn’t all that clear in the photo, but the smaller ones definitely have more of a deep green coloration.  Finally, they also smell much more vegetable-y (leafy green-y, to be exact), if that makes sense.

I served a small amount to Charles, to let him be the actual judge, and he happily chomped them down!!  He really loved his TOPs before, and I’m glad that he can finally have them again, in a more beak-friendly size.  Of course, Sabrina followed suit and happily gobbled them up as soon as she saw Charles eating them.  Yay!

Charles, Sabrina, and I highly recommend these pellets for the little guys.  Delicious!!  Thank you, Gudrun!!

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ 13 Responses to A Gift from Totally Organics!

  • Ming-Ming says:

    That’s so awesome of them!!!!

  • Meg says:

    Well that was nice! I used TOP several years ago, but unfortunately I got too allergic to peppers to have them in the house at all. I had been pushing it to use them at all! Still, my birds all absolutely adored them! Really, they loved them.

    • Coco's Flock says:

      Wow! I’m sorry to hear that 😦 Do you feed your flock pellets still– what kind?

      • Meg says:

        Nope, no pellets. They all have soy, another severe allergy for me. I have used the Roudybush rice (I know, terrible things are in them!) as a elimination diet when Lola got so sensitive she was reacting violently to every other food. After several months on that, with treatment, I was able to re-introduce regular food, and I never found any allergy. We still don’t know what started it, but I think it was part of the recovery process from her liver damage, etc., form before.

  • HungryBird says:

    It was very nice of them to send you that free stuff! I am actually kind of curious about the Crumplets now after seeing that picture because they look like they are more than just crumpled up Totally Organic Pellets, they look much more green. Maybe that would be the trick to getting my parakeets to eat more of them.

    • Coco's Flock says:

      They definitely smell more “green” (like a veggie) to me as well. Both the ‘keets love them! If your guys like their leafy greens, I think these would be a big hit!

  • Our flock devour Totally Organics Pellets, Treats, and Soak mixes! We thank our Auntie Gudrun daily for making us happy and healthy!

  • BethySue says:

    It’s awesome of them to send that to you! I’m really excited about the littler pellets. My birds should like them.

  • Oooh… Those actually look great, I never heard of them. Are they really that new? I’d love to try some of those with my budgies, they’d probably love them! The only pellets they ever tried were those gross Zupreem pellets. To tell you the truth, those are the only type of pellets available around where we live.

    I haven’t ever ordered from on line, but maybe I should start. All of the orders that everyone is getting are so awesome, especially yours. You’re so lucky to be getting such great stuff! 🙂

    • Coco's Flock says:

      They are indeed very new! I think they were only announced within the last month. I can’t imagine not shopping online… really not much in terms of local options here!! 🙂

  • […] Organic Pellets that I’d like to try giving to the birds called Crumplets that I heard of here.) It would make life just a bit more easier for me, and funner too. Change is good every now and […]

  • […] Coco’s Flock – A Gift from Totally Organics! […]

  • AHTO says:

    Thank for your posting!!
    I live in South Korea and live with three lovebirds.
    I will buy that pellet but no reviwes in korea T_T
    Thank for your posting!!
    Thank you so much!!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Gift from Totally Organics! at Coco's Flock.

meta

